Help with subtitles

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Help with subtitles

Postby Yer Auld Da » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:16 pm

If this is somewhere and i've missed it i do apologise

subtitles seem to be an all or nothing

i dont want subtitles on all the time, only when they should be

for example, was watching star trek 3 last night (no laughing now) which is in english. however there are a few scenes in klingon which normally have subtitles

i can only get subs on all the time, or nothing at all. is there something i should be doing so they only play when needed?

also please in your explanation, keep it as if you are talking to a 6 year old girl because thats about my level of computer skills and lingo


thanks!
Yer Auld Da
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby Yer Auld Da » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:21 pm

sorry, meant to add they are .mkv's played via mencoder
Yer Auld Da
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby ExSport » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:33 pm

You are talking about FORCED subtitles. If you will use same name for SUB as video file has[when using external SRT or SUB], then you will see UND [undefined] subtitles in #TRANSCODE# folder.
When you will use same name for subtitles as movie but ADD e.g. ".EN" or ".ENG", then you will see also LANG name for that instead of UND info.
So an example:
- you have video file Star.Trek.Part1.avi
- you have 2 subtitle SRT files, one FULL and one FORCED with names:
* Star.Trek.Part1.srt__________under #TRANSCODE# folder you will see it as UND subtitles
* Star.Trek.Part1.EN.srt__________under #TRANSCODE# folder you will see it as ENGLISH subtitles
So now you can rename your subtitles same way...you can use FORCED subtitleas with ".EN" addon and for full subtitles you can use exact name as video name => then you will find FORCED subs as ENGLISH ones and also in case you set some audio/subtitles priorities, subtitles can be loaded automatically depending on your preference...
EDIT: change AVI extension to your MKV one ;)
If you have embeded subtitles directly in the MKV file then you need to choose corect subtitles manually.....in case that forced subtitles are present ;)
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby Isbarv » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:37 pm

Hi Yer Auld Da, if you want the subtitle to show up only on relevant scenes, you'll have to manually edit the .idx/.sub/.srt file or the subtitle stream in mkvs. Personally, I think it will be too much hassle and will take lots of time to do.

For the mkv files, the steps are:
1. Demux the mkv
2. Edit the subs appropriately
3. Remux back the mkv
Isbarv
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:55 am

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby Yer Auld Da » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:42 pm

thanks guys,
just so i'm clear, i need to manually edit each file?
Yer Auld Da
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:11 pm

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby Isbarv » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:55 pm

Yes if it is a follow up to my reply.
Isbarv
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:55 am

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby ExSport » Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:56 pm

So if you don't have any forced subtitles, you can try to find them on internet also....
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Help with subtitles

Postby Yer Auld Da » Mon Apr 27, 2009 6:59 pm

yuk, sounds like too much work

where's my klingon phrase book?
Yer Auld Da
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 5:11 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 11 guests