Will i3 laptop work for transcoding HD?

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

Will i3 laptop work for transcoding HD?

Postby funkytwig » Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:08 pm

Hi, I am looking at getting a second hand laptop to use with PS3 Media Server. Will a i3 do the youb or do I need a i5? Which CPUs/models should I look for?

Ben
funkytwig
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:43 pm

Re: Will i3 laptop work for transcoding HD?

Postby Armagg3don » Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:24 am

Depends on the size, resolution and quality of your video files. Among larger and with higher quality, is more demanding transcoding.
A quality and resolution you want to see your video files?
Armagg3don
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:02 am

Re: Will i3 laptop work for transcoding HD?

Postby funkytwig » Sat Nov 30, 2013 7:13 pm

I am playing it on a 42" Plasma so I guess 720p is all I need. Had a look and cant see how to set 720;(.
funkytwig
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:43 pm

Re: Will i3 laptop work for transcoding HD?

Postby Armagg3don » Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:24 am

As well, with an i3 at you it will go very well. 720p is not a very demanding resolution.
I have an Asus laptop with E2-1800 APU and it's going great playing 720p MKV files with an average size of between 3GB to 7GB.
So, with an i3 you must go even better.
One suggestion, make sure you have at least 4GB ram. Preferably 8GB.
Armagg3don
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:02 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests