PS3 server and VMWARE

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

PS3 server and VMWARE

Postby Fish44 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 2:44 am

First of all many thanks for this product, it is really great.

Afer a long time away from the PS3 server, i decided i'd debug why it was not seeing my renderers. I noticed it used the ip of my vmware network adaptors, instead of my host. So i disabled them (the vm adaptors), and restarted the server, and wolla, i could see my renderers, and it used the correct network adaptor and its ip.

Is there a way to force the PS3 server to use the host adaptor and its IP Address , wheather the instead of the VMAdaptors are enabled or disabled?


This is the log when its doing what i want.
Code: Select all
INFO  2013-11-22 01:34:42.755 [main] Using address /192.168.1.54 found on network interface: name:eth7 (Realtek RTL8168B/8111B Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.20))
INFO  2013-11-22 01:34:42.755 [main] Created socket: /192.168.1.54:5001


This is when the VM adaptors are on.
Code: Select all
INFO  2013-11-22 01:36:21.738 [main] Using address /192.168.138.1 found on network interface: name:eth4 (VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet1)
INFO  2013-11-22 01:36:21.738 [main] Created socket: /192.168.138.1:5001


So i wish to lock the Realtek bindings to the PS3, so no matter what state the other network adaptors are in it will always use the host machine. This way i can set it into service mode in the knowledge that it will always work even if the machine is rebooted.

Any advice welcome.
Fish44
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 2:58 am

Re: PS3 server and VMWARE

Postby meskibob » Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:03 am

Under the General Configuration tab, use the "Force networking on interface" setting.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4784
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PS3 server and VMWARE

Postby Fish44 » Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:03 pm

Cool, done and working. Many thanks for the quick reply.
Fish44
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 2:58 am

Re: PS3 server and VMWARE

Postby msdss » Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:00 am

I'm having a similar issue.
If I disable the VM network adapter in device manager everything works fine.
The moment I re-enable the device everything stops working.
I have PMS set to force the default renderer, network interface, and IP address.

Without fail the moment the VM is re-enabled the PMS loses connection.
Is there a way around this other than disabling the VM adapter every time I want to use PMS?
msdss
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:03 am

Re: PS3 server and VMWARE

Postby meskibob » Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:59 pm

Please provide the PMS.conf showing the forced network interface (you don't need to force IP or renderer) and the trace debug.log showing PMS connecting to the VMware NIC instead.
Thread moved.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4784
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests