PMS works on BDP S780, S590 corrupt, Bravia no connect

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: PMS works on BDP S780, S590 corrupt, Bravia no connect

Postby Raptor399 » Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:07 am

I have committed a basic fix, which adds a new option renderer_force_ip to the PMS.conf:

Code: Select all
# Set the string that contains a list of IP adresses and the renderer
# profiles that should be forced to match for them. The comma separated
# list contains pairs of a renderer name followed by "@" and an IP
# address. The renderer name should match the value of the RendererName
# property in a .conf file. The IP address can be specified as a range.
# If there are multiple matches, the first that is found will be forced.
#
# Example: "Sony Bravia HX@192.168.1.34,Sony Bravia EX@192.168.0-1.*" will
# use regular detection for a renderer connecting from "192.168.2.1" (as
# there is no match), will force "Sony Bravia EX" for a renderer connecting
# from "192.168.1.2" (match with the range) and will force "Sony Bravia HX"
# for a renderer connecting from "192.168.1.34" (matches both entries, but
# the HX was found first).
#
# Default: "", which means PMS will not force anything and use regular
# detection.
renderer_force_ip =


I haven't added a corresponding GUI option under "General Configuration > Advanced HTTP and system settings" yet, it can be added later.
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Re: PMS works on BDP S780, S590 corrupt, Bravia no connect

Postby SeaFox » Mon Jul 15, 2013 11:27 am

Question regarding this specific issue (Sony Blu-Ray players):

For this to work the original poster would need to make two sonybluray.conf files. One with the first player set-up commented out, and the second with the second set-up commented out, since she technically needs both confs at the same time.

She can set both players to static IPs and have them each loading their respective version of the conf, enabling them to work properly. But what if a new player connected and was identified as a Sony Blu-ray player... Which conf would PMS end up using if it's looking at the header and now has two confs that match it?

Or is this a dumb question since you could just strip out the header identifying info from the "custom" confs so they never get used automatically by PMS.
Intel Core i7 920 - 6 GB RAM - Windows 8 Pro x64 | PS3MS v 1.82 | Sony BDP-S580, Sony BDP-S390
SeaFox
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 am

Re: PMS works on BDP S780, S590 corrupt, Bravia no connect

Postby Raptor399 » Mon Jul 15, 2013 7:13 pm

Good question!

The question basically boils down to "which .conf is picked by PMS when two or more confs match the same renderer?"
The short answer is: PMS will pick one randomly.

But my hunch is that in reality it won't be all that random. My guess is that the .conf files will be considered in the order that they have been discovered, which is alphabetical. And that will result in always the same .conf file being picked by PMS.

In the case of the original poster, I would create a copy, give the copy a unique "rendererName", and then force each .conf to its respective IP address.
And if a new player connected, I would first see if it was functioning properly. And if it wasn't, I would force a renderer on its IP address.
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Previous

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests