Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby maets » Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:27 pm

Hello all, I just tried the PS3 Media Server and I love it!

I just got a problem hehe. I got a really slow internet / bandwidth - 2mb. 2mb is my download rate, upload are just at like 0.1 or 0.2mb so its kinda slow I guess.

I need the best but lowest settings so that I can stream through my mac to watch videos, without pausing the video too much as I have to now!
If you also could tell me where to change those settings (maybe some pictures) that would have been great!

Thanks :mrgreen:
-m
maets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby SeaFox » Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:04 am

You internet speed shouldn't have any effect on this, it runs on your own network.

Are you using wireless to connect to your router?
Intel Core i7 920 - 6 GB RAM - Windows 8 Pro x64 | PS3MS v 1.82 | Sony BDP-S580, Sony BDP-S390
SeaFox
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 am

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby maets » Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:04 am

SeaFox wrote:You internet speed shouldn't have any effect on this, it runs on your own network.

Are you using wireless to connect to your router?


Yes, for both components
maets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby SeaFox » Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:25 pm

Are these devices really far away from each other?
What model router is this?

You should be getting better speeds than this on your internal network, and the download/upload speeds should be similar. The only reason peoples' Internet speeds are so much higher download than upload is because their providers sell the service that way.
Intel Core i7 920 - 6 GB RAM - Windows 8 Pro x64 | PS3MS v 1.82 | Sony BDP-S580, Sony BDP-S390
SeaFox
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 am

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby maets » Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:37 am

SeaFox wrote:Are these devices really far away from each other?
What model router is this?

You should be getting better speeds than this on your internal network, and the download/upload speeds should be similar. The only reason peoples' Internet speeds are so much higher download than upload is because their providers sell the service that way.


The devices are close, I had my mac like 2 meters away from the ps3. The router though was upstairs. Its a zyxel router.
maets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby SeaFox » Sun Jun 09, 2013 9:59 pm

maets wrote:
SeaFox wrote:Are these devices really far away from each other?
What model router is this?

You should be getting better speeds than this on your internal network, and the download/upload speeds should be similar. The only reason peoples' Internet speeds are so much higher download than upload is because their providers sell the service that way.


The devices are close, I had my mac like 2 meters away from the ps3. The router though was upstairs. Its a zyxel router.


Okay, that's probably the issue in some way. The signal is having to go up/down the floors. If you can move the router somewhere downstairs (if it's DSL service this should be possible) that will help.
Too bad you can't run a wired connection from the Mac to the PS3. I don't think the PS3 would support being on two networks at the same time, though. Edit: If this is not true someone chime in. I don't have a PS3.

You said you have 2 mbps down and 0.2 mbps up. Once again, the download/upload speeds should be similar on your own network. What device is getting that slow upload speed and how are you measuring it?
You can't stream anything with that little upload bandwidth. So we need to figure out if that's really what you're getting.
PS3 Media server will tell you what speed the renderer connects to it at in the log. That's what we need to look at.
Intel Core i7 920 - 6 GB RAM - Windows 8 Pro x64 | PS3MS v 1.82 | Sony BDP-S580, Sony BDP-S390
SeaFox
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 am

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby maets » Mon Jun 10, 2013 2:54 pm

Thanks for replying.

The video lags or shutters when the mb/kbps gets over like 15mb. Under this, it works perfectly and got a really nice picture.
How do I prevent the mb to increase? Short episodes (40minutes) works smoothly, I only have to pause it for a few seconds sometimes. Big files such as movies seems to be more difficult to stream. Any idea?
maets
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 07, 2013 11:22 pm

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby SeaFox » Tue Jun 11, 2013 12:45 am

If you can get up to 10-15 MB of bandwidth down the issue may only be occurring with HD things, or files that have to be transcoded by PS3MS to MPEG2, since that would make the stream size balloon up compared to something that can be streamed in it's native format.

You might want to find out what type of router you have. It's a ZyXel, but is it a 802.11g or 802.11n based? If it was supplied by your Internet provider ask them. Find out if you can upgrade to an N-based one if you're using a G-based one. A better network connection really is the best solution to this.

Might be possible to reduce network usages needed as well, though.
I'll post more later (like much later) tonight, at work now.
Intel Core i7 920 - 6 GB RAM - Windows 8 Pro x64 | PS3MS v 1.82 | Sony BDP-S580, Sony BDP-S390
SeaFox
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 am

Re: Need settings for 2mb bandwidth

Postby SeaFox » Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:46 am

Ok, I'm back.

First thing. As I said before, might want to check your Trace log for the speed your rendering device is connecting at. Here's the end of mine:

...
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:31.563 [main] Using the following UUID configured in PMS.conf: 4622cf16-664c-3731-8d47-dfa87bb7c47b
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:31.735 [New I/O server worker #1-1] No IP filter specified, access granted to /192.168.9.100
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:31.735 [pool-7-thread-1] Checking IP: 192.168.9.100 for Sony Blu-ray
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:31.828 [main] The server should now appear on your renderer
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:32.343 [New I/O server worker #1-8] No IP filter specified, access granted to /192.168.9.102
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:32.343 [New I/O server worker #1-8] Another renderer like Sony Blu-ray was found!
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:32.343 [pool-7-thread-2] Checking IP: 192.168.9.102 for Sony Blu-ray
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:36.449 [pool-7-thread-1] Renderer Sony Blu-ray found on this address: 192.168.9.100
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:37.198 [pool-7-thread-2] Renderer Sony Blu-ray found on this address: 192.168.9.102
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:38.462 [pool-7-thread-1] Address /192.168.9.100 has an estimated network speed of: 85 Mb/s
INFO 2013-06-11 02:08:39.211 [pool-7-thread-2] Address /192.168.9.102 has an estimated network speed of: 23 Mb/s

INFO 2013-06-11 02:09:02.907 [UPNPHelper] No IP filter specified, access granted to /192.168.9.254


I use PS3 Media Server to two blu-ray players in my house. One is wired to the router, as is my PC, so they can connect at 85 mbps. The second blu-ray player is connecting via wireless in another room. The network speed is fairly low (23 mbps) because my router is an old 802.11g-based router, also my PC tower is sitting in-line between the router and the second player, so the steel case may be interfering (I really should do something about that). I honestly think real-world performance is closer to 15-18 mbps with that player. I have issues with streaming HD stuff on it if it needs to be transcoded.

If you have any metal shelves under your router between it and the equipment downstairs, move the router somewhere else. Same with if you have your PS3 or computer in some cubbyhole with stereo speakers on the shelves above and crap, that will mess with your network connection.

Also, check about other wireless networks around you. If your neighbors are all running their wi-fi routers on the same channel as yours, it's gonna effect your wireless speed. You can use an online tool like Wi-fi Stumbler to check that if you don't have a utility already on your PC that tells you the channels of the wireless networks around you. If there's other networks on the same channel as you, try changing your wireless router to use a different channel. This isn't hard, and again, if you don't know how and got your wireless router from your internet provider, call their tech support line for help. Try to move your network at least two channels away from other peoples'. So if you're on channel 11 and there are other folks on it, try channel 9 or 8 for example. Channels 1, 6, and 11 will be the most crowded, because almost all routers ship from the factory programmed for one of these three channels and most people are too lazy/dumb to change theirs. If you change your router's wireless settings after saving your changes make sure to reboot it (unplug the power for 30 seconds on it) to make sure your wireless is operating on the new channel and not in some half-assed betweenville state. All your wireless stuff should be able to reconnect to it without you having to change the settings on them.

After you've tried some of this stuff relaunch PS3MS and see if you got better results. That may fix your problem right there.

Now then...
You're asking for settings for a low bandwidth connection. Have you tried the choices you have? The settings are actually on a pop-up menu with other choices for lower quality/bandwidth or running on a slower PC:

Image

Try the "Medium Quality for HD Wifi" choice and see if it works better.

Also, last ditch but there is also the scaler:

Image

I've never used it myself, but scaling the image down to an SD resolution would still allow it to be seen even if it's not as sharp, and the smaller image would take up a much lower bandwidth.

Might also consider lowering audio settings. Like setting it to only do 2 channels maximum and lowering it to 224 kbps. If you don't have a 5.1 speaker system hooked up you can't hear the 5.1 channels separately anyway, and the lower audio bandwidth means more room for video in a cramped space.

Remember that if you make changes to your config you need to save them and restart PS3MS before they'll take effect.
Intel Core i7 920 - 6 GB RAM - Windows 8 Pro x64 | PS3MS v 1.82 | Sony BDP-S580, Sony BDP-S390
SeaFox
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:03 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests