PMS Needs restart to see renderers

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby wicho91 » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:31 pm

Hi there, im new at PMS server.

Here is my issue.

If i launch the PMS server with the PS3 on theres no problem, the PS3 can connect and stream correctly.

However if i open the PMS before i turn on the PS3 , the PS3 itselft it cant connect.


Is there any timeout for lookout for renderers?.

Thanks in advance.
wicho91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby meskibob » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:32 pm

I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4784
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby wicho91 » Tue Mar 26, 2013 10:39 pm

Is there any way to lower the timeout of the "alive notice" im guessing thats my problem, because i perfectly see the media server once the PS3 is on and i opne the server.

What im looking for is for a way to have the PMS always open and only turn on the device. Is there anyway to do it?.


Thanks in advance.
wicho91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:28 pm

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby xixspiderxix » Wed Mar 27, 2013 6:24 pm

I am actually having the same issue. Everything will be working fine, but after not watching a movie for a bit it will just drop. I have no firewall running on the media server pc. After reading the FAQ it doesn't really solve the problem. When I go and hit restart server it comes back up no problem. Starting to become an issue. Had no problem with this with TVersity or just using Media Player 11. Really wish I could solve this one as the ability to use different encoders has me loving this application!
xixspiderxix
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:46 pm

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby Raptor399 » Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:57 pm

Two questions for when you just switched on your PS3 and PMS doesn't appear:

- Can you find PMS when you search for media servers on the PS3?
- If you wait for at least 4 minutes, does PMS appear automatically on the PS3?
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby xixspiderxix » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:11 pm

Not sure if i'm stating my issue correctly.

Turn on PS3
Turn on Media Server PMS
Watch Movie
Wait 10-15 minutes
Media Server doesn't show up any more
Reboot PS3
Media Server doesn't show up
Click on Restart Server on PMS
Media Server shows up on PS3

Repeat as necessary
xixspiderxix
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:46 pm

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby meskibob » Thu Mar 28, 2013 5:33 pm

Again, follow the FAQ (as linked in my first post to the OP). Something on either your PC or router is blocking the multicast request from the PS3.
As for your issue where PMS disappears after 10-15 minutes of inactivity, that could potentially be an actual issue. Are you power management settings set to turn off disks or go to sleep? Is there a specific error message on the PS3? Please start your own thread and provide the debug.log - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&start=30#p38484
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4784
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PMS Needs restart to see renderers

Postby wicho91 » Thu Mar 28, 2013 9:57 pm

In my case , after de 4 minutes time, it will show on my renderer. Any suggestion of configuration for transcoding?The connection is via RJ45.
wicho91
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:28 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 16 guests