PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby bob.rea » Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:09 am

Hey everyone,

I've been using PMS for a long time and I've never really had any issues that I wasn't able to figure out on my own, but now I''m stumped. I recently did a fresh install of Windows 7 because my older version of Windows was not genuine. The Windows I have installed IS genuine, (Win7 Home premium, 64 bit.) As I said before, I've never had a problem like this before, but now, my PS3 and my Samsung TV don't even see the media server. The PMS program gives me the red X and says no renderers found. I've set up everything exactly as I have in the past, I even have my firewall turned totally off, and no anti-virus software on my computer. I'm just totally stumped, so I'm hoping to get some help here.

Thanks!
Bob
bob.rea
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:03 am

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby crashburn162 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:03 pm

DO you use wireless or cable? if you are using wireless try connecting the PS3 with cable from your router and see if it can be seen then.Also try to set default renderer and see if it works then. P.S Win 7 home premium is probably the buggiest windows 7 out there.
crashburn162
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2013 1:27 pm

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby bob.rea » Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:18 pm

Both my PC and PS3 are wired to my router. My TV is downstairs and connected to the network wirelessly. I checked the "force default renderer" box and it still doesn't see the media server.
As far as Win7 Home being the buggiest, there's not much I can do about it. It's what I have.
bob.rea
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:03 am

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby bob.rea » Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:34 am

Anybody else have any ideas...?
bob.rea
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:03 am

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby wasup » Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:49 am

i have exact the same problem. Can someone please help?
wasup
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 7:13 am

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby meskibob » Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:53 pm

As stated in the other thread, please follow the FAQ - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&start=20#p34933
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4789
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby dmitche3 » Thu Jan 24, 2013 3:39 pm

That's a very good link. Perhaps you have another media server that is using port 5001? I have 4 media servers that I'm playing with and if the firewall is turned off I would guess that the port is not being bound as I have a Samsung EH5300 and no problems other than me messing up the firewall and having multiple servers trying to bind to the same port. :)
I hope that helps.
dmitche3
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:55 pm

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby bob.rea » Fri Jan 25, 2013 3:28 pm

Thanks, ill try these fixes when I get home tonight.
bob.rea
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:03 am

Re: PS3 and Samsung TV don't see PMS

Postby bob.rea » Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:35 pm

So I'm making some progress. I got the PMS to show up by running it as admin, but now, all of my mkv files show up as unsopported data. As well as seemings random avi files.
bob.rea
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 5:03 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], Topken and 11 guests