Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

Postby mattdoofus » Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:40 am

I have a computer with windows 7 x64 and a computer with vista x64. Both ethernet ports are configured like this for direct connection to the ps3:

IP Address: 10.1.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 10.1.1.0
Default DNS: 10.1.1.0
Alternate DNS: 10.1.1.10

On the windows 7 pc PMS finds the ps3 instantly and I can ping it, but on the vista pc when I ping I receive the error 10.1.1.1: Destination host unreachable and PMS states no renderers were found.

Firewalls are off on both PCs. I'm confused as everything seems to be setup identical.

Please help.
Thanks
mattdoofus
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

Postby ExSport » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:47 am

You can't have same settings on Windows 7 and Vista at the same time due to IP collision in the network.
What IP has your PS3?
Btw your network config is wrong:
IP Address: 10.1.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 10.1.1.0 - IP address is "Network address". You can't use it!
Default DNS: 10.1.1.0 - IP address is "Network address". You can't use it!
Alternate DNS: 10.1.1.10

In most cases 10.1.1.1 - last nr. is used by router so it is used as a Default Gateway and also as a DNS server.
If you don't use router but crossover cable only (between PS3 and OS),use this:
IP Address: 10.1.1.20 for PS3, 10.1.1.30 for OS1, 10.1.1.40 for OS2, etc...
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: empty
Default DNS: empty
Alternate DNS: empty

I used so high IP to avoid possible collision because I don't know you network design.
ExSport
 
Posts: 2161
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

Postby mattdoofus » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:12 pm

Sorry for the confusion my PC is directly connected to my ps3. No router involved. It works perfectly in Windows 7 but not in Vista.
mattdoofus
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

Postby meskibob » Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:22 pm

Follow the FAQ for direct connections - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&p=32731#pms-pms_faq_connectivity_direct
It's looking like you're not setting the IP correctly on the Vista machine and then not properly referencing it as a gateway on the PS3, but it's hard to tell from your posts which IPs are where.
Note: you'll only be able to use one direct connection at a time (Win 7 or Vista) with one PS3. Not sure what exactly you're trying to do.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4739
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

Postby mattdoofus » Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:36 pm

I'm using one at a time. I was just referencing the Windows 7 pc to explain that it works correctly. But when the ps3 is directly connected to vista pc it doesn't work even though I have the ip settings exactly the same.
mattdoofus
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:27 am

Re: Can't ping or find ps3 from vista x64!

Postby mattdoofus » Sun Jan 20, 2013 8:51 pm

bump
mattdoofus
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 12:27 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Symyr and 20 guests