I did RTFM but can't figure out how to only transcode audio.

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

I did RTFM but can't figure out how to only transcode audio.

Postby 812371 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:11 am

The LG "smart" TV plays "all" video without transcoding.
But often I get an "Audio unsupported" error.

I wish to only transcode audio, and if possible also add subtitles.

I just need to be pointed in the right direction then I'll figure it out by myself. Thank you.
812371
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:06 am

Re: I did RTFM but can't figure out how to only transcode au

Postby Raptor399 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 2:20 pm

You are asking for the impossible.

Your video files are containers that contain both video and audio streams. If you want to modify the container to contain a different kind of audio track, you will have to transcode it to a new file that contains the correct formats. This is essentially what transcoding does and there is no way around it.
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Re: I did RTFM but can't figure out how to only transcode au

Postby 812371 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 7:44 am

Raptor399 wrote:You are asking for the impossible.

Your video files are containers that contain both video and audio streams. If you want to modify the container to contain a different kind of audio track, you will have to transcode it to a new file that contains the correct formats. This is essentially what transcoding does and there is no way around it.


Ok, well good to know. Thank you.
812371
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:06 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 10 guests