Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby whickwire » Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:43 pm

I previously had made a post about having some issues using PMS on multiple PS3 consoles. I think it got a tad off topic and would like to rectify my situation a little bit more clear.

Is it possible to set up two different profiles within PMS to distinguish which settings the 2 respective consoles should use?

I figured that using the IP binding feature in different .conf profiles would allow me to distinguish which transcoding settings my respective PS3 would need (ie DTS for one, AC3 for the other).
whickwire
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby chocolateboy » Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:00 pm

chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby whickwire » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:09 pm

I'm still kinda confused as to how I would set up 2 profiles in PMS, 1 for each console. Setting up 1 isn't any trouble, the problem happens when I want to access media that has DTS audio but my renderer can't support because I have no DTS decoder. Maybe a better question would be, how can I specify two different renderer profiles within PMS?
whickwire
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby chocolateboy » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:39 pm

You need to create and save a second profile as per the (updated) instructions.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby kangocartman » Thu Nov 22, 2012 9:57 pm

The way I've done it is to start the PMS via the select profiles, this creates a conf file in the PMS folder in program/data I set all the things I want it to do DTS etc and that saves those details to that PMS.conf. I do this via the PMS gui not the conf files.
I then rename that file to the location I have the DTS receiver eg. Lounge I do this for each location of my PS3's, so in your case you would have 2 conf files.
You must select the IP adress and also force the port, I have the lounge on 5001 (default) and the bedroom on 6001.
Remember when you start PMS it has to be via the select profiles ie Start>All Programs> PMS Media Server>PMS Media Server (Select Profile), Or you could set a shortcut on your desktop to where the conf files are as it saves time.
I hope this helpsr.
K
PMS version 1.54/ Java 1.7
Intel 2Core Quad Q6600 2.4GHz
4GB Win7 Ultimate 64bit
Wired 1GB via VM Super Hub
2x PS3 (1x 80GB Fat + 1x 120GB Slim)
42" 1080p lcd, 32" 1080p lcd
kangocartman
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:53 am

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby whickwire » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:34 pm

Thanks for the reply. That sounds like a partial solution for the moment. I'm just curious if it is possible at the moment of running two sever instances of PMS? The one will have the settings for my living room ps3 and the other for the bedroom.
whickwire
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby chocolateboy » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:48 pm

whickwire wrote:That sounds like a partial solution for the moment.


It's not a partial solution. It's the solution to creating and running multiple profiles.

I'm just curious if it is possible at the moment of running two sever instances of PMS?


chocolateboy wrote:each profile should use a different port if it needs to run at the same time as other profiles.

To distinguish between different profiles in the renderer, set the name option.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

How to use 2 profiles at once?

Postby whickwire » Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:29 pm

At the risk of infuriating the mods I'm gonna try and re-clarify my problem. I made two separate .conf files one for the Living Room and one for my bedroom. Each of the .conf files specify the name and port numbers which are both unique.

When I launch each of these profiles using the select profile dialogue my PS3 will only show the last one I opened. My question is why won't my PS3 show both of them when I have specified different port numbers?

I posted the two .conf files being used below just in case I have screwed something up. Also another interesting detail is when I specify the IP address no media servers show up on the PS3.

Code: Select all
name=Living Room
thumbnails = true
image_thumbnails = true
alternativeffmpegpath = C:\\Program Files (x86)\\PS3 Media Server\\win32\\dvrms\\ffmpeg_MPGMUX.exe
mencoder_ass = true
mencoder_fontconfig = true
mencoder_ass_defaultstyle = true
uuid = 53bd5b8d-cd5f-35b5-a2ba-9baa5ff06fab
folders = C:\\Users\\HOME\\Desktop\\TV,C:\\Users\\HOME\\Desktop\\Movies,C:\\Users\\HOME\\Desktop\\Tom\\Music,F:\\Movies (External)
mencoder_usepcm = false
mencoder_remux_ac3 = false
auto_update = true
network_interface =
maximumbitrate = 0
renderer_default =
engines = tsmuxer,mencoder,ffmpegvideo,ffmpegaudio,mplayeraudio,tsmuxeraudio,ffmpegwebvideo,vlcvideo,mencoderwebvideo,mplayervideodump,mplayerwebaudio,vlcaudio,ffmpegdvrmsremux,rawthumbs
embed_dts_in_pcm = true
hidevideosettings = false
mencoder_remux_mpeg2 = false
audiochannels = 6
audio_resample = false
audiobitrate = 640
port = 6001
prevents_sleep_mode = false
renderer_force_default = false
maxvideobuffer = 600
hostname =
ip_filter =


Code: Select all
name=Tom's Room
thumbnails = true
image_thumbnails = true
alternativeffmpegpath = C:\\Program Files (x86)\\PS3 Media Server\\win32\\dvrms\\ffmpeg_MPGMUX.exe
mencoder_ass = true
mencoder_fontconfig = true
mencoder_ass_defaultstyle = true
uuid = 53bd5b8d-cd5f-35b5-a2ba-9baa5ff06fab
folders = C:\\Users\\HOME\\Desktop\\TV,C:\\Users\\HOME\\Desktop\\Movies,C:\\Users\\HOME\\Desktop\\Tom\\Music,F:\\Movies (External)
mencoder_usepcm = false
mencoder_remux_ac3 = true
auto_update = true
network_interface =
maximumbitrate = 0
renderer_default =
engines = tsmuxer,mencoder,ffmpegvideo,ffmpegaudio,mplayeraudio,tsmuxeraudio,ffmpegwebvideo,vlcvideo,mencoderwebvideo,mplayervideodump,mplayerwebaudio,vlcaudio,ffmpegdvrmsremux,rawthumbs
embed_dts_in_pcm = false
hidevideosettings = false
mencoder_remux_mpeg2 = false
audiochannels = 6
audio_resample = false
audiobitrate = 640
port = 5002
prevents_sleep_mode = false
renderer_force_default = false
maxvideobuffer = 600
hostname =
ip_filter =
whickwire
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: How to use 2 profiles at once?

Postby chocolateboy » Thu Nov 22, 2012 11:34 pm

whickwire wrote:
Code: Select all
name=Living Room
uuid = 53bd5b8d-cd5f-35b5-a2ba-9baa5ff06fab


Code: Select all
name=Tom's Room
uuid = 53bd5b8d-cd5f-35b5-a2ba-9baa5ff06fab



They need different UUIDs. I've added this to the FAQ (and committed a fix).
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Multiple devices with multiple profiles?

Postby kangocartman » Fri Nov 23, 2012 1:07 am

I have set an IP filter for either PS3
Also I named my PS3 the same as the conf this was done in the settings of the PS3 itself
I'm not sure but that's what I've done and I have two UUId's.

name = Bedroom
thumbnails = true
image_thumbnails = true
alternativeffmpegpath = C:\\Program Files (x86)\\PS3 Media Server\\win32\\dvrms\\ffmpeg_MPGMUX.exe
mencoder_ass = true
mencoder_fontconfig = true
mencoder_ass_defaultstyle = true
uuid = cbf9d7cd-012a-4365-a880-1e0bf090f104
ip_filter = 192.168.0.7
folders = H:\\Asian Movies,H:\\Movies,H:\\Tv,H:\\MP3 Albums,F:\\,N:\\
http_engine_v2 = false
mencoder_sublangs = eng,und
mencoder_audiosublangs = en,off;eng
port = 6001

name = Lounge
thumbnails = true
image_thumbnails = true
alternativeffmpegpath = C:\\Program Files (x86)\\PS3 Media Server\\win32\\dvrms\\ffmpeg_MPGMUX.exe
mencoder_ass = true
mencoder_fontconfig = true
mencoder_ass_defaultstyle = true
uuid = e8604a61-e2a6-46ca-b56b-56fc555f1114
embed_dts_in_pcm = true
ip_filter = 192.168.0.6
folders = H:\\Asian Movies,H:\\Movies,H:\\Tv,H:\\MP3 Albums,F:\\,N:\\
http_engine_v2 = false
mencoder_audiosublangs = en,off;eng
mencoder_sublangs = eng,und
PMS version 1.54/ Java 1.7
Intel 2Core Quad Q6600 2.4GHz
4GB Win7 Ultimate 64bit
Wired 1GB via VM Super Hub
2x PS3 (1x 80GB Fat + 1x 120GB Slim)
42" 1080p lcd, 32" 1080p lcd
kangocartman
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 3:53 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], chonka, Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests