Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to fix.

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to fix.

Postby BWE » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:11 pm

Ok, I am well aware some people suffer from the same problem as me. I am aware that generally changing the Java heap memory does the trick, and it used to for me - however it's returned and I cant shake it.

I get the usual error:
Code: Select all
DEBUG 2012-09-26 01:32:22.006 [Thread-131] Cannot grow buffer size from 50,000,000 bytes to 1,045,430,272 bytes.


I run my PMS via a shortcut like so:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files (x86)\PS3 Media Server\pms.jar" -classpath update.jar;pms.jar -Xmx6g -d64 -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Dfile.encoding=UTF-8 net.pms.PMS

(Yes, I have tried other numbers etc 1024M 2048M 6000M etc)

Running like this, for me; produces an out put of "Memory: 1365 MB" in the traces tab and an increase of 997 to the transcode buffer in the transcoding settings tab.

As I said, normally this does the trick and I have kept my PMS like this for many months.

I have tried going back to 1.50.0 and reinstalling 1.70.1 etc. I haven't changed any hardware or software or network settings or hardware (Highest quality settings on PMS still). I used to stream 35gb m2ts files without a hassle (I apparently get 85mb/s). But now I cant play a 1gb 720p video.

The real solution for me is to simply unplug my PS3 and replace it with my WD TV Live (Which plays HD videos perfectly fine without skipping)..... Which means its not network and not the PMS settings?? I tried changing the MaxVideoBitrateMbps & TranscodedVideoFileSize but that did nothing.


Either way I am totally confused and very raged.

TL;DR: Video is skipping, I used to be able to fix it - Now its back. Tried every other way to fix it & its not the network.

PS: I feel I shouldn't have to give my PC specs as this problem used to be fixable but here they are any ways...

i7 920 @ 4ghz
6gb DDR3 @ 3000mhz
1gb ATI HD5870 (Overclocked)
SSD Intel 520 HD

Billion BiPAC 7800NL Modem/Router
WPN824v2 AP/Router

PC is connected to the Billion via the WPN824
PS3 is connected directly to the Billion

Same subnet blah blah.
Last edited by BWE on Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BWE
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:57 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby meskibob » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:18 pm

There's a max of 600mb for the transcode buffer.
Should be similar to your shortcut, but try going through the .bat instead - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&start=30#p38969
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4738
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby BWE » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:22 pm

meskibob wrote:There's a max of 600mb for the transcode buffer.
Should be similar to your shortcut, but try going through the .bat instead - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&start=30#p38969


Tried that and got an error:

Code: Select all
Error: could not open 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\lib\i386\jvm.cfg'


Edit: Reinstalled JRE6 and got this error instead.

Code: Select all
Could not create the Java virtual machine


Which is why I decided to make the shortcut instead.

Why would going through the .bat make any difference?

Also, why does it say that the transcode buffer is 997 then? (After running it through my custom shortcut).
BWE
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:57 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby BWE » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:09 pm

anybody?
BWE
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:57 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby meskibob » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:14 pm

Sounds like an issue with environmental variables (or something else with your Java install) - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&start=30#p41214

As for the size of transcode buffer, the GUI should automatically drop that back down to 600MB. A screenshot of the setting, a copy of the PMS.conf, and a debug.log would help figure out what's going on there.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4738
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby meskibob » Thu Sep 27, 2012 3:21 pm

For the difference between the bat and your shortcut:
Here is the command from the bat file
Code: Select all
start javaw -Xmx768M -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Dfile.encoding=UTF-8 -classpath update.jar;pms.jar net.pms.PMS

Only real difference I see in yours (apart from the updated Xmx value) is the "-d64", and I'm not sure why you have it.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4738
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby eniomarques » Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:51 pm

I've had the same problem:

Code: Select all
DEBUG 2012-09-28 17:40:15.042 [Thread-26] 2 duplicate frame(s)!
DEBUG 2012-09-28 17:40:15.042 [Thread-26] Muxer frame buffer cannot allocate memory!


INFO  2012-09-28 17:40:15.394 [StartPlaying Event] renderer: 192.168.0.101, file: C:\Users\Enio\Desktop\Filmes e Seriados\Mission.Impossible.Ghost.Protocol.2011.1080p.BrRip.x264.YIFY.mp4
DEBUG 2012-09-28 17:40:21.718 [Thread-23] Cannot grow buffer size from 50,000,000 bytes to 629,145,600 bytes.


I've just changed the Transcode Buffer Max Size from 600, back to 400 (which was the value from my old 1.54 version, which worked fine)
eniomarques
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby BWE » Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:06 am

eniomarques wrote:I've had the same problem:
I've just changed the Transcode Buffer Max Size from 600, back to 400 (which was the value from my old 1.54 version, which worked fine)


:shock: it worked!

after all these countless hours of messing with java etc the solution was to LOWER the buffer size.

:!: :?: :!: :?:

this should be part of the FAQ
BWE
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:57 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby meskibob » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:54 am

It is... In the post I initially provided....
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4738
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Video randomly skipping. Tried every possible method to

Postby eniomarques » Fri Oct 05, 2012 1:07 am

BWE wrote:
eniomarques wrote:I've had the same problem:
I've just changed the Transcode Buffer Max Size from 600, back to 400 (which was the value from my old 1.54 version, which worked fine)


:shock: it worked!

after all these countless hours of messing with java etc the solution was to LOWER the buffer size.

:!: :?: :!: :?:

this should be part of the FAQ


glad it helped.... I've spent some hours on it also
eniomarques
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 9:48 pm

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests