Hardware encoding

If you have a suggestion for a feature, post it here

Hardware encoding

Postby Milan1992 » Wed Sep 26, 2012 8:31 am

Hi, maybe it is unpossible, or not so usefull in some environment but, it can be very usefull for many people.

I saw on the internet that the Video editors (some of them) support the VGA Encoding to get much better performance. It means that the GPU couting the data insted of CPU which much more designed for everage process than the GPU which designed for the best performance in the video process.

Shortly GPU can convert 100-150% faster the Videos than the CPU.

If it is possible it would be good to add the feature to choose GPU encoding. However it can only work if the PC or Server contain Video card and sure it has much better performance than the CPU. For example the i7 CPU versus the Workstation GPU, the GPU cant win, but at a low end PC it can be help a bit, and sure if we don't use the CPU we can use it for another "works".
Milan1992
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:30 am

Re: Hardware encoding

Postby slooff » Thu Sep 27, 2012 2:10 pm

Hi Milan1992,

This is already supported by PMS/mencoder. Do a search on CUDA and/or CoreAVC in these forums to find some relevant discussions.
opensuse 12.1, latest PMS build, mplayer/mencoder with static libraries, movieinfo, pmsencoder, edl plugin, PS3, XBOX, Samsung ES7000
slooff
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:28 am

Re: Hardware encoding

Postby kanti123 » Thu Oct 04, 2012 1:09 am

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5547

that link is pretty much what he's talking about
My Setup
Computer
Asus G73Jw
16Gig of ram
2x 512Gig of HDD
1 Gigabit LAN line
Geforce GTX460M

Output Setup
PS3 Slim
1000 base full band
HDMI to Denon AVR-4311CI to Samung un55ES7100 (Calibrated with X-Rite i1Pro Enhanced from Spectracal)
kanti123
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:02 pm


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest