Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

For help and support with issues specific to Linux/Unix
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby N.Simpson » Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:16 am

I had this working great under 32bit Ubuntu 8.10 but since I've moved to 64bit it won't work at all. PMS starts correctly and displays the files but nothing will play using tsMuxeR. This is the preferred solution for me as it gives the best quality with the lowest BW (although DTS to LPCM does add a fair %).
N.Simpson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:07 am

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby meisseli » Tue Jan 20, 2009 7:05 am

Sorry for borrowing your thread, but I think my question is related to yours. I'm also interested how PMS will work on 64bit distributions. I'm in a need of a new computer, and would prefer more than 4GB of RAM, and I'm maybe moving for 64bit Kubuntu. Is there any hope to get PMS working?
Unglorified computer programmer
meisseli
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:42 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby theyosh » Tue Jan 20, 2009 7:22 pm

Here I am running ubuntu 8.04 (LTS) 64Bit. And tsMuxer is just working here.

But I had to make it a executable program first. It is missing the execute rights.
You can fix that with the following:

Go to your PMS-1.03/linux folder
chmod +x tsMuxer

That should do the trick. Now I am able to start tsMuxer.

But maybe it has to do something with the lib32 libraries. Those are needed for 32bit programs on a 64bit linux OS.

But try the first option first. It is the most easily one.

Regards,
TheYOSH
theyosh
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:19 pm

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby Frank-NL » Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:54 pm

I don't have any problems with Ubuntu Intrepid 64. Probably the execution rights, as mentioned.
Frank-NL
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:52 pm

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby jase » Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:56 pm

It's pretty weird. I have two x86_64 boxes, one has just bare minimum htpc software (mythtv, xfce) and the other has all kinds of stuff (normal workstation). tsMuxer doesn't work on the htpc but on the workstation it runs fine.

The workstation has 32libs and the htpc doesn't so my educated guess is on the 32libs.

When i tried to run in from command line I got this:
Code: Select all
/opt/pms/linux/tsMuxeR: line 39: /tmp/tmp.R4GQzHf6rz/tsMuxeR: No such file or directory
jase
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:44 pm

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby N.Simpson » Thu Jan 29, 2009 11:41 pm

jase wrote:It's pretty weird. I have two x86_64 boxes, one has just bare minimum htpc software (mythtv, xfce) and the other has all kinds of stuff (normal workstation). tsMuxer doesn't work on the htpc but on the workstation it runs fine.

The workstation has 32libs and the htpc doesn't so my educated guess is on the 32libs.

When i tried to run in from command line I got this:
Code: Select all
/opt/pms/linux/tsMuxeR: line 39: /tmp/tmp.R4GQzHf6rz/tsMuxeR: No such file or directory


This is same problem I'm having. I've already chmod'd the file so it looks like libraries are the problem.
N.Simpson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:07 am

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby jase » Thu Feb 05, 2009 2:39 pm

Ok, I downloaded the lastest version 1.04 and I got tsMuxeR working in 64-bit system. I have only two 32-bit libs installed gcc-libs and glibc. (In archlinux this means packages lib32-gcc-libs and lib32-glibc, other distros probably have these also with different names)
jase
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:44 pm

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby ratatoskr » Mon Mar 09, 2009 9:03 pm

I got some sort of the same problem. Using PMS 1.10.5 and Ubuntu 8.10 64bit.

This is what I get when running tsMuxeR:

From Traces in PMS:
[linux/tsMuxeR] TRACE 20:11:56.538 java.io.IOException: Cannot run program "linux/tsMuxeR": java.io.IOException: error=2, No such file or directory

From Terminal:
anders@Aasgaard:~$ linux/tsMuxeR
bash: linux/tsMuxeR: No such file or directory

--------------

anders@Aasgaard:~/pms-linux-1.10.5/linux$ dir
tsMuxeR tsMuxeR_licence.txt
anders@Aasgaard:~/pms-linux-1.10.5/linux$ tsMuxeR
bash: tsMuxeR: command not found
anders@Aasgaard:~/pms-linux-1.10.5/linux$

--------------

anders@Aasgaard:~$ '/home/anders/pms-linux-1.10.5/linux/tsMuxeR'
SmartLabs tsMuxeR. Version 1.7.3(b) http://www.smlabs.net
Usage:
For start muxing: tsMuxeR <meta file name> <out file/dir name>
For detect stream params: tsMuxeR <media file name>
For more information about meta file see readme.txt

As you see, I can run tsMuxeR if I put inn the full path.

Synaptics says I do have lib32gcc1 installed.
Ubuntu 8.10 | PMS 1.10.5 | Core2Duo E5200 |
ratatoskr
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby threecheese » Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:39 am

FYI I had the same problem on Debian amd64, strace showed that tsMuxeR is hard-coded to look for 32-bit ld shared lib in /lib instead of lib32.

Code: Select all
ln -s /lib32/ld-linux.so.2 /lib/ld-linux.so.2


fixed it.
threecheese
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Has anybody got tsMuxeR working under 64bit Linux?

Postby metallicious » Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:34 am

Setting the symbolic link does not work using Kubuntu 12.10 x64.

Result is:
Code: Select all
"Segmentation fault".


Obvisiouly, as tsMuxer is 32bit program which is missing the nexessary 32bit libraries.
You have to install the 32Bit libraries for your system.

For (K)Ubuntu the package is named "ia32-libs":

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
metallicious
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 5:35 pm

Next

Return to Linux/Unix Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests