VDPAU

For help and support with issues specific to Linux/Unix
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

VDPAU

Postby benjp2k1 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:29 pm

Hello,

I am running the latest build of PMS and have mencoder/mplayer builds from the PPA with VDPAU support (working: tested with mplayer). I can watch videos in mplayer and take up 1-3% cpu with VDPAU but PMS still takes up 25%+ CPU. Is there any way to enable VDPAU for PMS? I tried adding the switch -vc ffh264vdpau with no luck. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

EDIT: Checked version number: 1.10.5
benjp2k1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:56 pm

Re: VDPAU

Postby shagrath » Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:12 am

the vc flag is not used in ps3ms so in theory it should work. But mencoder is used here, not mplayer, so maybe there's something different
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: VDPAU

Postby benjp2k1 » Sat Jan 23, 2010 3:09 am

When I try to use the -vc flag, the stream crashes mentioning an invalid output format. If I try to use the -vo flag with it, I only receive corrupt data on the PS3.

Shagrath, would this be something you might look into adding support for in future builds? Also, is there anywhere that I can find documentation about your code? I would like to take a look at it and see if I can contribute. I haven't used Java since college, but I'm sure I can pick it up again.
benjp2k1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:56 pm

Re: VDPAU

Postby fcuk112 » Thu May 27, 2010 4:54 am

hi sorry to revive an old thread - i followed instructions http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4253 and i get vdpau playback using mplayer/smplayer of 720/1080p mkv files with low cpu utilisation on ubuntu lucid.

when i use PMS i get high cpu utilisation, it doesn't use vdpau. is there now a way to configure PMS now to use vdpau? i am using the latest beta.

my hardware is dual-core 3.4ghz, 2gb ram, nvidia 8400gs.

thanks very much in advance.
fcuk112
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 4:15 am

Re: VDPAU

Postby ExSport » Thu May 27, 2010 6:03 am

PMS is using MEncoder, not Mplayer so I suppose it doesn't support HW acceleration.
What I know, only Windows MEncoder supports it thanks to Sherpya ;)
ExSport
 
Posts: 2167
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: VDPAU

Postby ERamseth » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:37 pm

Some links:

http://lists.mplayerhq.hu/pipermail/men ... 10074.html

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=127856

A little outdated, yes, but AFAIK nothing has changed in this arena. I have an AMD Athlon II X4 2.6GHz with 4 cores and using multi-threaded ffmpeg/mencoder/mplayer it can handle the transcode just fine. I have a spare Athlon X2 that I've been meaning to try out as well... I have a feeling it might even be able to handle it.

One thing to note: make sure cpu frequency scaling isn't set for an overly conservative mode. I found on Ubuntu 9.10 stock I had to tweak the settings for ondemand to scale up at 30% usage rather than whatever the default is (I think 95%?) or change it from ondemand to performance mode. On Ubuntu 10.04 stock I haven't found the need for this. I think cpu frequency scaling has improved from 9.10 to 10.04 but I can't quantify exactly what has changed.
ERamseth
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 1:27 am

Re: VDPAU

Postby malmostoso » Wed May 09, 2012 8:34 pm

Hello everyone, sorry for the necroposting.
I recently upgraded my computer with a VDPAU enabled Nvidia card and I was wondering if someone has figured out how to use VDPAU with Mencoder.

Thanks for any help!
malmostoso
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 8:15 pm


Return to Linux/Unix Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests