How to watch tv with pms?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

How to watch tv with pms?

Postby youbewt » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:54 pm

Hello,

I have just installed PS3 media server on my PC to be able to read my mkv thus no concerns to this level there.
But I noticed by crossing internet that it was also possible to look at the channels television of his internet supplier by way of pms.
Apparently pms contains from its download some address of webtv that one little to view by going on "Web" to the "video" section of the XMB of the PS3, but I do not find the "Web" section.
Concerning the connection, the PS3 is connected by WiFi with the modem and the PC is connected with the modem by Ethernet cable.
The only regulation which I have make on pms is to indicate my network card.

Could you help me please?

Thank you.

(Sorry for my grammar, I'm french)
youbewt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby chocolateboy » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:59 pm

chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby youbewt » Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:34 pm

Thanks for your answer.

According to this link, I have to place the WEB.conf file in the "profile directory". But what means "profile directory"?
youbewt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby meskibob » Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:41 pm

The linked FAQ post contains a link to the following FAQ post - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&p=32731#p32731
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4768
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby youbewt » Mon Mar 26, 2012 10:33 pm

Effectively, I'm sorry I didn't saw it.

I'm going to try it.

Thanks.
youbewt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby youbewt » Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:10 am

So I can see now the section "web" with the two channels which was in the file WEB.conf. But when I launch the channel the screen stays black for 20 seconds then it displays :"data corrupted". Itried to open them from the folder "transcode" but I didn't manage.

Those are the channel links:

# video streams
videostream.Web,TV=France 24,mms://stream1.france24.yacast.net/f24_liveen,http://www.france24.com/en/sites/france24.com.en/themes/france24/logo-fr.png
videostream.Web,TV=BFM TV (French TV),mms://vipmms9.yacast.net/bfm_bfmtv,http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/62/BFMTV.png

Image

Even if I place "Mencoder Web" before "VLC video streaming" the probleme is the same.
youbewt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:51 am

youbewt wrote:Even if I place "Mencoder Web" before "VLC video streaming" the probleme is the same.


Thanks. That's a bug in our latest MEncoder build.

In the meantime a) don't use VLC (it's no longer supported) and b) use PMSEncoder, which is linked from the FAQ I posted earlier. (Note: those two streams won't work with PMSEncoder until our MEncoder build is fixed.)
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby youbewt » Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:17 am

Ok I'm going to install PMSencoder.

But do you mean I couldn't watch this two channels with PMSencoder?
youbewt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:28 am

youbewt wrote:But do you mean I couldn't watch this two channels with PMSencoder?


They won't work with MEncoder or PMSEncoder in the current version of PMS.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to watch tv with pms?

Postby youbewt » Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:35 am

Ok. I've just installed PMSencoder.

Do you have any solution to I watch those channels with PMS? Can I use older versions? When do you think the problem with the current version will be fixed?
youbewt
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 21 guests