Can't stream mp4 to ps3

For help and support with issues specific to Mac OS X
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: Can't stream mp4 to ps3

Postby Raptor399 » Tue Feb 28, 2012 8:41 am

based wrote:The same exact message came up, the popup as well

Aaah! Wait a minute... Are you using OSX 10.5 (Leopard) by any chance?
The binaries shipped with PMS have been compiled for OSX 10.6 or higher.

You can try to compile your own binaries for OSX 10.5 with the scripts in the contrib, just be sure to change the OSX_VERSION to 10.5 in build-pms-binaries.sh.

The latest version of PMS with binaries compiled for OSX 10.5 was 1.30.1. Another alternative is to download the binaries from version 1.30.1 and use those instead of the ones shipped with the latest version by copying them to "/Applications/PS3 Media Server.app/Contents/Resources/Java/osx/".
Raptor399
Project Member
 
Posts: 1916
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:06 am

Re: Can't stream mp4 to ps3

Postby based » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:47 pm

Yes, I am running 10.5. I replaced the binaries with the binaries from 1.30.1 still no luck, I even uninstalled 1.50.1 and installed 1.30.1 and still nothing. This is really baffling me. I guess I'll have to convert all my mp4's to avi but mp4 looks so much better to me.
based
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:29 pm

Re: Can't stream mp4 to ps3

Postby based » Tue Feb 28, 2012 10:57 pm

Nevermind, I had to force transcode for mp4. Thank you so much Raptor. I was ready to bite the bullet and get a WD TV. Thanks again
based
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:29 pm

Re: Can't stream mp4 to ps3

Postby bigg3522 » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:46 pm

Does this apply to the windows version? How did you force the transcode for MP4? I've been having MP4 issues as well.
bigg3522
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:44 pm

Re: Can't stream mp4 to ps3

Postby based » Fri Mar 02, 2012 2:20 am

Under the transcoding settings tab, it should say "force transcode for the following extensions". Type mp4 in the box and restart PMS. Some of my mp4's still say data corrupted but the majority of them are working now.
based
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 11:29 pm

Previous

Return to Mac OS X Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests