PS3 Media Server - GPU

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby PatZ1989 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:43 am

Hi, currently using a HP n36l microserver as a DLNA server and it just doesnt seem to have enough CPU grunt for transcoding - does PS3 Media Server support GPU assisted transcoding?

Thanks
PatZ1989
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:41 am

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby Val Killmore » Tue Aug 30, 2011 1:18 pm

Look up CoreAVC and CUDA. There is a way with AviSynth/FFmpeg engine. Can't speak on it though.
Val Killmore: Potato Chip Assassin
SubJunk53--Java 7u4--Acer Aspire 6930 2CoreDuo @ 2.00 GHz 3.00 GB RAM serving to : PS3 Slim -- 2 Xbox360
User avatar
Val Killmore
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 8:48 am

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby furney2 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:33 pm

avisynth works fine just follow instructions on java ps3 media server for dummies chapter 5 video lan and avisynth
furney2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:29 pm

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby PatZ1989 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:13 pm

Have just been reading through that, have CoreAVC installed now (sadly no nvidia graphics card to test this with yet), can't see how to associate PSM with CoreAVC though?
Also i read alot about how this is just the decoding - would this actually be a solution to the problem where streaming to the ps3 is stuttery / jittery?

Thanks
PatZ1989
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:41 am

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby Val Killmore » Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:41 am

Val Killmore: Potato Chip Assassin
SubJunk53--Java 7u4--Acer Aspire 6930 2CoreDuo @ 2.00 GHz 3.00 GB RAM serving to : PS3 Slim -- 2 Xbox360
User avatar
Val Killmore
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 8:48 am

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby furney2 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:44 am

didnt get any stuutering using avisynth while playing lord of the rings 1080p extended and iron man 720p bith mkv files
furney2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:29 pm

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby furney2 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 4:47 am

one thing i would like to ask val . would i benefit installing ps3 media server as 64 bit and if yes could you please give me an idiots guide on how to do that cheers
furney2
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 3:29 pm

Re: PS3 Media Server - GPU

Postby Val Killmore » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:11 am

furney2 wrote:one thing i would like to ask val . would i benefit installing ps3 media server as 64 bit and if yes could you please give me an idiots guide on how to do that cheers


I run 32 bit. Sorry, can't help you.
Val Killmore: Potato Chip Assassin
SubJunk53--Java 7u4--Acer Aspire 6930 2CoreDuo @ 2.00 GHz 3.00 GB RAM serving to : PS3 Slim -- 2 Xbox360
User avatar
Val Killmore
 
Posts: 712
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 8:48 am

GPU transcoding

Postby skatingrocker » Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:40 am

I have PS3 Media Center installed on my server with 4GB of ram and I believe an older ~2Ghz Core 2 Duo processor. Anyway I currently have no GPU installed, just the onboard Intel graphics. If I get a cheap card like an nVidia 8600GT would take offload some of the transcoding from the CPU onto the GPU? My work around for this has been just running PS3 Media Center on my main computer (i7 920 @ 4Ghz, Radeon 6970) and having it access the files on my server. The videos play fine off the server with PS3 Media Center but I think it might struggle with the higher bitrate 1080p files, also, I don't want the CPU usage to be so high because it slows down file transfers for other computers accessing the server.

Is what I'm asking for possible without a plug-in, if there is a plug in to use what is it?

Thanks
skatingrocker
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 2:33 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests