Diggnation and RantTV streaming Problems

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Diggnation and RantTV streaming Problems

Postby Dan » Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:32 am

Hi,

This is going to be long, please read. :)

I'm using WinXP sp2 with a P4 3.0 GHz processor (OC'd to 3.2 GHz) and 2 GB of RAM. I have one core selected in the Transcoding Settings. I'm also using a wireless G network with a signal strength of 100 percent (according to the PS3). I have capped the transfer rate to 20 Mbps. While I have left forced transcoding blank, I've allowed the following to skip transcoding:

avi,mp3,mp4,mpg,mpeg,ts,vob

I'm also using the low quality "keyint=25:vqmax=8:vqmin=3" for testing purposes (if that works, we'll see where we can go from there later). Also, latest version of Java installed (Version 6 update 11) and have manually (forced) entered all General Configuration settings for my own personal security reasons (and not leaving it to chance).

Shared MP3 audio and JPEG images files work great. Shared video files that are format supported by the PS3 work great. Other video files that require transcoding work okay (it depends on the original format and original encoded method). However, all video files when played back directly from the computer work great in MPC and VLC.

It is internet streaming that I am having the most difficult time. I've been trying to get Diggnation and RantTV to stream. Here is what I've entered:

Code: Select all
videostream.Web,vStream=RantTV,http://www.rantmedia.ca/ranttv/ranttv.pls,http://www.rantmedia.ca/ranttv/rantmedialogo.gif
videostream.Web,vStream=Diggnation,http://revision3.com/diggnation/feed/xvid-large,http://revision3.com/static/images/shows/diggnation/diggnation.jpg

videofeed.Web,vFeed=http://www.rantmedia.ca/ranttv/ranttv.pls
videofeed.Web,vFeed=http://revision3.com/diggnation/feed/xvid-large


I've configured both VideoFeed and VideoStream for both Diggnation and RantTV. I had hoped that when I went back to the PS3 at least one set of each would work. Then I would know for sure which one goes where. :) Here are my results under the "Web" folder.

RantTV and vStream:
Displayed on PS3 as "RantTV [MEncoder Web] MPEG1" with correct logo. After selecting the "Transcoding Buffer Status" remained "Empty" (no sign that anything happened), followed by "The data is corrupted" from the PS3.
****
Diggnation and vStream:
Displayed on PS3 as "Diggnation [MEncoder Web] MPEG1" with correct logo. After selecting the "Transcoding Buffer Status" went to "0 Bytes" and quickly went "Empty", followed by "The data is corrupted" from the PS3.
****
RantTV and vFeed:
Displayed on PS3 as a folder with the title of "1233701870012". After selecting the folder, "There are no titles" appeared.
****
Diggnation and vFeed:
Displayed on PS3 as a folder with the title of "Diggnation (Large Xvid)". After selecting the folder 25 Diggnation episodes appeared with their 25 associated episode logos. The first episode displayed as "Diggnation - Home Sweet Home in San Francisco [MEncoder Web] MPEG1". With the exception of the episode title, all 25 episodes included [MEncoder Web] MPEG1. After selecting the top episode the "Transcoding Buffer Status" went to "0 Bytes" and quickly went "Empty", followed by "The data is corrupted" from the PS3.

Based on the above, RantTV should be filed under vStream and Diggnation should be filed under vFeed. Okay, that makes sense (I'm slow sometimes), just wanted to be sure. The next thing to try was to changing the "Video Web Streaming Engine" from "MEncoder Web" to "VideoLan Video Streaming". Save changes and "Restarted HTTP server". Went out and came back in to the server on the PS3. Here are the new results.

RantTV and vStream:
Displayed on PS3 as "RantTV [VideoLan Video Streaming] MPEG1" with correct logo. After selecting the "Transcoding Buffer Status" showed an increasingly negative number. CPU was at 4 percent and a black screen remained on the PS3 until "The data is corrupted" finally appeared two minutes later. The debug.log section is below.

Code: Select all
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:44:56.808 Resume Read: readCount=983040 / writeCount=0
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:44:56.808 Suspend Read: readCount=1048576 / writeCount=0
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:44:56.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:44:57.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:44:58.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:44:59.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:45:00.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:45:01.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:45:02.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:45:03.964 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:45:04.308 Resume Read: readCount=1048576 / writeCount=0
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:45:04.308 Sending stream with premature end : 1048576 bytes of get/0$7$1$0/RantTV. Reason: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:45:04.308 Ready to Stop: true
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:45:04.308 Sending stream: 1048576 bytes of get/0$7$1$0/RantTV
[Thread-84] DEBUG 15:45:04.308 Close Connection
[Timer-0] DEBUG 15:45:04.964 Buffered Space: 0 bytes
[Thread-93] INFO  15:45:05.011 Stopping process: C:\Program Files\VLC\vlc.exe
[Thread-92] INFO  15:45:05.011 Stopping process: C:\Program Files\VLC\vlc.exe
[Thread-92] INFO  15:45:05.011 Destroying buffer
[Thread-93] INFO  15:45:05.074 Destroying buffer
[C:\Program Files\VLC\vlc.exe] DEBUG 15:45:05.152 EOF
[Thread-93] INFO  15:45:05.152 Destroying buffer
[Thread-92] INFO  15:45:05.230 Destroying buffer

Diggnation and vFeed:
Displayed on PS3 as a folder with the title of "Diggnation (Large Xvid)". After selecting the folder 25 Diggnation episodes appeared with their 25 associated episode logos. The first episode displayed as "Diggnation - Home Sweet Home in San Francisco [VideoLan Video Streaming] MPEG1". With the exception of the episode title, all 25 episodes included [VideoLan Video Streaming] MPEG1. After selecting the top episode the "Transcoding Buffer Status" showed an increasingly negative number. CPU was at 5 percent and a black screen remained on the PS3 until "The data is corrupted" finally appeared two minutes later. The debug.log section is below.

Code: Select all
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:28.089 Resume Read: readCount=983040 / writeCount=0
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:28.089 Suspend Read: readCount=1048576 / writeCount=0
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:28.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:29.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:30.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:31.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:32.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:33.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:34.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:35.261 Buffered Space: -1048576 bytes
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:35.589 Resume Read: readCount=1048576 / writeCount=0
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:35.589 Sending stream with premature end : 1048576 bytes of get/0$7$2$1$0/Diggnation+-+Home+Sweet+Home+in+San+Francisco. Reason: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:35.589 Ready to Stop: true
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:35.589 Sending stream: 1048576 bytes of get/0$7$2$1$0/Diggnation+-+Home+Sweet+Home+in+San+Francisco
[Thread-221] DEBUG 16:04:35.589 Close Connection
[Timer-2] DEBUG 16:04:36.261 Buffered Space: 0 bytes
[Thread-229] INFO  16:04:36.292 Stopping process: C:\Program Files\VLC\vlc.exe
[Thread-230] INFO  16:04:36.292 Stopping process: C:\Program Files\VLC\vlc.exe
[Thread-229] INFO  16:04:36.292 Destroying buffer
[Thread-230] INFO  16:04:36.292 Destroying buffer
[C:\Program Files\VLC\vlc.exe] DEBUG 16:04:36.355 EOF
[Thread-229] INFO  16:04:36.355 Destroying buffer
[Thread-230] INFO  16:04:36.511 Destroying buffer

Am I suppose to actually see VLC v0.9.8a start on the PC when the streaming begins, because I don't?

Why does the PS3 display MPEG1 for Diggnation, when the video is Xvid and should not need any transcoding? I also have AVI entered as a skip transcoding extension.

Can someone please offer some advice, I haven't had much luck using the search and without documentation I doing a lot of guessing. Though, I suppose I need the exercise running back and forth between the PC and the PS3. :lol:

If you made it this far, thanks for reading and I hope you can help. Thank you.
When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
User avatar
Dan
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: Diggnation and RantTV streaming Problems

Postby Dan » Tue Feb 10, 2009 9:25 pm

Nobody is having streaming problems? :?
When I die, I want to go peacefully like my Grandfather did, in his sleep -- not screaming, like the passengers in his car.
User avatar
Dan
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: Diggnation and RantTV streaming Problems

Postby XsCode » Sat Mar 14, 2009 4:12 pm

I am having similar problems.

PC: AMD 6400+ Black Edition, 2gb Corsair xmms, Vista SP1, Wired to the PS3 through a WRT45G, 20mb Broadband


this is my entry in web.conf
Code: Select all
videofeed.Web,Podcasts=http://revision3.com/diggnation/feed/quicktime-high-definition/


All i get in the traces screen is
Code: Select all
[Thread-87] TRACE 14:45:48.687 Starting transcode/remux of Live In Los Angeles! - Diggnation


I have vlc installed and PMS is seeing it as shown
Code: Select all
[main] TRACE 14:44:34.442 Found VideoLAN version 0.9.8a at: C:\Program Files\VideoLAN\VLC\vlc.exe


Am I supposed to be able to see anything in the transcoding settings for Videolan Video Streaming?

All I get is a black screen and a corrupt data message after several seconds.

TIA
XsCode
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 4:07 pm

Re: Diggnation and RantTV streaming Problems

Postby whome » Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:48 pm

System: WinXP-SP3, VLC 0.9.8a, PS3MS v1.10.5 compiled from sources

Here is my test report and test urls in WEB.conf file.

I tried all Revision3 rss url formats and xvid-small, xvid-large, wmv-small and wmv-large works fine. Go and try each on your machine.

Ranttv sortof works if you use the internal stream url, you can find it in a .pls text file. You can give .pls url to VLC standalone player and it works fine. Its an another story using VLC web transcoding/streaming it always want real video stream urls. This is very unfortunate VLC behaviour, but reason why you cannot trust vlc standalone playback and assume url is fine for dlna streaming. Ranttv stream has a broken audio using VLC streamer and MEncoderweb streamer gives a broken video :-) Choose which one you prefer.

Code: Select all
## Revision3
videofeed.Web,TekzillaXS=http://revision3.com/tekzilla/feed/xvid-small/
videofeed.Web,CoopXS=http://revision3.com/coop/feed/xvid-small/
videofeed.Web,CoopWS=http://revision3.com/coop/feed/wmv-small/
videofeed.Web,CoopQTL=http://revision3.com/coop/feed/quicktime-large/
videofeed.Web,CoopQTHD=http://revision3.com/coop/feed/quicktime-high-definition/
videofeed.Web,CoopMP4HD=http://revision3.com/coop/feed/mp4-hd30/
videofeed.Web,DiggnationXL=http://revision3.com/diggnation/feed/xvid-large/

## Ranttv
videostream.Web,RantTV=RantTVpls,http://www.rantmedia.ca/ranttv/ranttv.pls,http://www.rantmedia.ca/ranttv/rantmedialogo.gif
videostream.Web,RantTV=RantTVnsv,http://broadcast.rantradio.com:8080/;stream.nsv,http://www.rantmedia.ca/ranttv/rantmedialogo.gif
whome
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 12:26 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: geb724, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], weslleymh and 7 guests