Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Discuss issues related to PS3 Media Server development (only for programmers)

Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby shagrath » Fri Jul 15, 2011 8:01 pm

Just so you know I worked a little on spdif support, after playing a little with the ac3 codec ( http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver ... il?id=1069 )
Right now, AC3 and DTS are working fine... it's just a matter of splitting, swapping data correctly and adding a spdif header. At least it's an alternate way to send data rather than plain DTS data in a LPCM stream
I'm looking if DTS-HD could work this way (truehd seems out of reach, due to spec bandwidth limits), but I'm not optimistic

I'll commit modifications soon ;)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby shagrath » Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:07 pm

DTSHD is a no-go, because PS3 in DLNA mode seems to output only at 48kHz (need high sample rate to send massive amount of data).... I can't get 96khz or 192khz to be detected on my HDMI receiver....
Seems a ps3 limitation :(
is anyone have a clue ?

reminds me of viewtopic.php?f=6&t=8527
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby shagrath » Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:09 pm

ok, seems I missed some interesting thoughts: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=6235
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby ExSport » Tue Jul 19, 2011 7:09 am

I thought 96kHz FLAC files worked on PS3 when browsed via VIDEO section with old PMS versions.
Or am I wrong? :)
I know that playing files from AUDIO section is limited to 44.1/48 KHz only.
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby shagrath » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:24 am

yes ps3 is able to play 96kHz files but in reality they are downsampled to 48kHz...
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2668
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby ExSport » Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:32 am

OK I see, thanks.
Keep up excellent work :mrgreen:
ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Audio (AC3, DTS, DTSHD?) passthrough

Postby papaTRIX » Tue Aug 02, 2011 7:58 pm

greetings,
i have been wrestling w/ this problem for quite some time.
using anydvd hd i copied a few blu-ray movies onto my sdd.
then w/ tsmuxer i removed the ac3 tracks but left the h.264 video + dts-hd | truehd audio tracks.
when streamed, the video was awesome but no sound was present.

on accident i copied another movie and left an ac3 track in the .m2ts container and the result was video + sound.

tsmuxer is showing me that the sample rate on the dts-hd track in my .m2ts container is @ 48KHz.
so why wouldn't it work?

i have everything connected via wired ethernet so data transfer is not an issue.
ps3ms @ 1.50.0 (b2) :: gigabit lan :: (i7 920 @ 4Ghz | 12G ram | geforce gtx 280) w7u sp1 x64
User avatar
papaTRIX
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 5:02 pm
Location: Orlando, Fl. USA


Return to Developers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests