PMS on WHS

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: PMS on WHS

Postby gastric » Mon Mar 02, 2009 1:49 pm

I was practically asleep when I was playing with this last night and I forgot to refer to the Windows Firewall configuration. I did not test to make sure they were all absolutely necessary or not, but it's possible the ports are not specifically required. I added the following exceptions:

* c:\program files\ps3 media server\pms.exe
* c:\program files\ps3 media server\win32\service\wrapper.exe
* TCP port 5001
* UDP port 5001
gastric
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:12 pm

Re: PMS on WHS

Postby jazz » Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:44 pm

Thank you gastric for the guide on how to get the ps3 media server running on the Whs platform... I'll have to try this out soon.
jazz
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 10:54 pm

Re: PMS on WHS

Postby firewater88 » Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:51 am

I currently run PMS on WHS. I have a dual xeon 2.8 w/ 3gb ram on gigabit. I have streamed a 13gb bluray rip file shutter free with 5.1 audio. I installed PMS with default settings and I can stream almost everything in my library. I have a slew of different media types in the library and it plays about 90% of my library right now.
Kudos to the maker of the software. I know they have to be busy making changes, but I will put my name in the hat for a WHS add-in as well.

Thanks!
CUSTOM WHS SERVER
Supermicro server,Quad core Xeon, 4gb ram

Network: D-Link DGL-4300 Router, (2) D-Link DGS-2208 Switch
Stream HD content using PS3 Media Server to two PS3's
User avatar
firewater88
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 11:50 pm

Previous

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 17 guests