Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby JayMan007 » Sun Mar 01, 2009 8:33 pm

1- your computer specs (cpu, memory)
2- the network connection you are using for streaming your files (wifi, homeplugs, ethernet 100Mbits, or gigabit)
3- detailed infos on what's not working
4- if you're transcoding some videos, which engine are you using ? (mencoder, avisynth/mencoder, tsmuxer)
5- a debug.log file excerpt, or you can zip the whole file. this file can be found in the application directory, or if you have UAC and Vista activated, likely found in the Windows temp directory.


1: AMD 9500 Quad-Core 2.2GHz, 3GB memory
2: PC: 100Mb; PS3: WiFi
3: PC doesn't see PS3; PS3 doesn't see PC. -This used to work, but no longer.
For what its worth, the PS3 doesn't see the Windows Media Player either - but used to.
As far as I can tell, the correct windows services are running. I tried with the McAfee firewall disabled, and no joy.
4: Using included codecs (mencoder)
5: Attached.
Attachments
debug.zip
(3.74 KiB) Downloaded 50 times
User avatar
JayMan007
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby Topguy » Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:06 pm

Code: Select all
[main] TRACE 14:12:50.914 Scanning network interface eth3 / NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
[main] TRACE 14:12:50.917 Using address /192.168.1.10 found on network interface: name:eth3 (NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller) index: 10 addresses: /192.168.1.10;
[main] TRACE 14:12:50.918 Created socket: /192.168.1.10:5001
[Thread-13] TRACE 14:12:50.930 Starting DLNA Server on host 192.168.1.10 and port 5001...


Is 192.168.1.X the same sub-net as the PS3 is on ??
Topguy
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:27 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby JayMan007 » Mon Mar 02, 2009 10:10 pm

Topguy wrote:Is 192.168.1.X the same sub-net as the PS3 is on ??


Yes, the PS3 is at 192.168.1.13.
I am able to ping it from the PC.
User avatar
JayMan007
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby meskibob » Mon Mar 02, 2009 11:02 pm

UPnP and Multicast traffic enabled on your router?
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby JayMan007 » Tue Mar 03, 2009 1:51 am

meskibob wrote:UPnP and Multicast traffic enabled on your router?


Wouldn't those changes be to allow IN/Out from the internet (through the router) to the local LAN or specified device?

I haven't changed anything on the actiontec router, and it was working about 2 weeks ago.
I'm sure something changed, I think on my PC, but I can't seem to find out what?
User avatar
JayMan007
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby meskibob » Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:11 am

JayMan007 wrote:Wouldn't those changes be to allow IN/Out from the internet (through the router) to the local LAN or specified device?

It seems most household routers also apply this for LAN-LAN traffic, not just LAN-WAN traffic. But, if it was working a few weeks ago, then it's probably fine.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby ExSport » Tue Mar 03, 2009 11:35 pm

ExSport
 
Posts: 2168
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:40 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby Cujo » Wed Mar 04, 2009 1:53 pm

JayMan007 wrote:1- your computer specs (cpu, memory)
2- the network connection you are using for streaming your files (wifi, homeplugs, ethernet 100Mbits, or gigabit)
3- detailed infos on what's not working
4- if you're transcoding some videos, which engine are you using ? (mencoder, avisynth/mencoder, tsmuxer)
5- a debug.log file excerpt, or you can zip the whole file. this file can be found in the application directory, or if you have UAC and Vista activated, likely found in the Windows temp directory.


1 2.4GHz, 4GB, Vista 32 bit.
2 PS3--Ethernet--> WRT54GL/DD-WRT--wifi-->PC.
3 PC and PS3 can't find each other, after upgrade to PMS 1.10.1.
4 n/a
5 attached

Error occured after installing ver 1.10.1. This was not an issue when running previuos ver 1.04 . tried the IP4/IP6 fix as suggested. IP4 was already set first, but I changed, and changed back the setting anyway just to be sure.
Attachments
debug.zip
(97.66 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
Cujo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:11 am

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby JayMan007 » Wed Mar 04, 2009 6:52 pm

ExSport wrote:OS Windows Vista x86 6.0
Try this http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=511&p=2667#p2637


I looked, and everything seems to be set correctly.

Last night I installed the latest version, -- I'm still having the same issue.

Edit (3/5/09): I read that some others were having this same issue with the new version (1.10.1) and went back to 1.04 and it worked.
I installed 1.04 over 1.10.1, and it now works. Go figure.
User avatar
JayMan007
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 4:22 pm

Re: Problem: PC not seeing PS3; PS3 not seeing PC

Postby Cujo » Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:03 pm

bump.

Edit. Nevermind, works with ver 1.306
Cujo
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 12:11 am

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 14 guests