Sony BRAVIA 2010 series

Discuss alternative media renderers (not PS3) supported by PS3 Media Server (e.g. Xbox 360, TVs &c.)

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby brotherjohn » Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:10 pm

Dutchice wrote:So I'm planning to type a step-by-step quick guide, so everyone can manage to get the best out of their fantastic BRAVIA TV's! ;)
That sounds GREAT !! I look forward to your BRAVIA-guide. :D
brotherjohn
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:13 am

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby pedicoq » Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:45 pm

Hey guys, I discovered a solution for BRAVIA's aspect ratio problem:

put this code in Codecs Specific Parameters:
1 -
Code: Select all
((double) width / height) >= 1.7 && ((double) width / height) <= 1.85 :: -mpegopts vaspect=4/3
((double) width / height) >= 2.3 && ((double) width / height) <= 2.5 :: -mpegopts vaspect=221/100


and this in Custom Options:
2 -
Code: Select all
-vf expand=1:::::16/9


Image


These options are in the tab Transcoding Settings>Video Files Engines>Mencoder.
Last edited by pedicoq on Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pedicoq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:43 pm

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby Xmantium » Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:59 am

I have the Sony KLD-52NX803 in the UK, I just installed PMS on my QNAP linux NAS server so bit of newbie
Transcoding .mkv plays perfect using PMS with default install settings. It even plays .mkv files crisper picture than my power hungry HTPC via HDMI

I know this TV does not play .avi natively but when I try to access .avi using PMS it says "there is no items to display". With .mkv files it displays TsMuxer to transcode files perfectly.

Is there anything I can do to make .avi transcode?
Would be grateful anyone who can help
PMS Running on QNAP TS-639 Pro Linux Server, 1.2 DualCore Intel, 12TB RAID5 HDD
Xmantium
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:47 am

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby Xmantium » Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:03 pm

I eventually made it play .avi files - finally!!

I downloaded the latest linux setup files, in the renderer folder contained BraviaEX.config
Edited UserAgentAdditionalHeaderSearch=(BRAVIA KDL.+EX4)|(BRAVIA KDL.+EX5)|(BRAVIA KDL.+EX6)|(BRAVIA KDL.+EX7) to include "+NX8" to match the first three characters of my model, I think the UK Sony Bravia models are numbered differently.

And presto it's working!! Thankyou PS3 Media Server! This forum rocks! :D
PMS Running on QNAP TS-639 Pro Linux Server, 1.2 DualCore Intel, 12TB RAID5 HDD
Xmantium
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:47 am

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby Xmantium » Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:07 pm

pedicoq wrote:Hey guys, I discovered a solution for BRAVIA's aspect ratio problem:

put this code
Code: Select all
((double) width / height) >= 1.7 && ((double) width / height) <= 1.85 :: -mpegopts vaspect=4/3
((double) width / height) >= 2.3 && ((double) width / height) <= 2.5 :: -mpegopts vaspect=221/100


in Codecs Specific Parameters, and this:
Code: Select all
-vf expand=1:::::16/9

in Custom Options.


Where can I put this on the Linux configuration?
PMS Running on QNAP TS-639 Pro Linux Server, 1.2 DualCore Intel, 12TB RAID5 HDD
Xmantium
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:47 am

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby iTimOSX » Mon Jan 03, 2011 2:51 pm

How do you mean?
Do I need to put -vf expand=1:::::16/9 in PMS.conf and the other lines on the transcoding page --> Mencoder in the application?

Please help!
iTimOSX
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 1:54 pm

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby Xmantium » Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:30 am

iTimOSX wrote:How do you mean?
Do I need to put -vf expand=1:::::16/9 in PMS.conf and the other lines on the transcoding page --> Mencoder in the application?

Please help!


I still haven't figured it out yet but I'm sure it goes in the PMS.conf, at the moment this is a fix for windows users as the windows user interface allows to input such code. In the meantime if u still have ratio problems, the quick fix is toggle the aspect ration options on your remote/tv
PMS Running on QNAP TS-639 Pro Linux Server, 1.2 DualCore Intel, 12TB RAID5 HDD
Xmantium
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:47 am

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby pedicoq » Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:40 pm

It's in Transcoding Settings>Video Files Engines>Mencoder.
pedicoq
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:43 pm

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby Xmantium » Wed Jan 05, 2011 7:03 pm

pedicoq wrote:It's in Transcoding Settings>Video Files Engines>Mencoder.

How is this done on Linux, we can only edit the PMS.conf file but don't know which parameters to change
PMS Running on QNAP TS-639 Pro Linux Server, 1.2 DualCore Intel, 12TB RAID5 HDD
Xmantium
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:47 am

Re: Sony BRAVIA 2010 series (EX4/EX5/EX7/HX7/NX5)

Postby brotherjohn » Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:11 am

Illico wrote:I will prefer something like that... MUST BE TESTED

Code: Select all
# ps3mediaserver renderer profile for Sony Bravia EX500/EX700 series
# Refer to PS3.conf for help

RendererName=Sony Bravia EX Series
RendererIcon=bravia.png
UserAgentSearch=notusedhere
UserAgentAdditionalHeader=X-AV-Client-Info
UserAgentAdditionalHeaderSearch=(BRAVIA KDL.+EX5)|(BRAVIA KDL.+EX7)|(BRAVIA KDL.+NX7)
Video=true
Audio=true
Image=true
SeekByTime=true
TranscodeVideo=MPEGTSAC3
TranscodeAudio=MP3
DefaultVBVBufSize=true
MuxH264ToMpegTS=true
MuxDTSToMpeg=false
WrapDTSIntoPCM=false
MuxLPCMToMpeg=false
MaxVideoBitrateMbps=0
MaxVideoWidth=0
MaxVideoHeight=0
H264Level41Limited=true
MimeTypesChanges=audio/wav=audio/L16|video/mp4=video/mpeg
DLNALocalizationRequired=true
#TranscodeExtensions=
#StreamExtensions=

#Required to be true for Bravia TVs and Sony Bluray players
ForceJPGThumbnails=true
MediaParserV2_ThumbnailGeneration=false

MediaInfo=true
# [Supported video formats]:
Supported = f:mpegps    v:mpeg2    a:ac3|lpcm|mpa    m:video/mpeg
Supported = f:mpegts    v:mpeg2/h264    a:ac3|mpa    m:video/mpeg
Supported = f:mpegts    v:mpeg2/h264    a:ac3|aac|mpa    m:video/vnd.dlna.mpeg-tts

# [Supported audio formats]:
Supported = f:mp3        n:2            m:audio/mpeg
Supported = f:wav        n:2            m:audio/L16

# [Supported image formats]
Supported = f:jpg m:image/jpeg

Thanks for that, Illico. It works quiet good execept one thing. I only made the following change to the above .conf file:
I replaced the line
Code: Select all
TranscodeVideo=MPEGTSAC3
with
Code: Select all
TranscodeVideo=MPEGAC3

I did this because with this setting I get dvr-ms files listed. Otherwise the Sony Bravia doesn't list these files on the XMB.
Do you know whether this has any side effects?
brotherjohn
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:13 am

PreviousNext

Return to Alternative Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests