How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:41 pm

Kreig415 wrote:normally it defaults to ASCII. Make sure it is set to UTF-8


ASCII is a subset of UTF-8.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby Kreig415 » Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:39 pm

...
Last edited by Kreig415 on Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:37 am, edited 2 times in total.
Kreig415
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Location: SF CA US

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:03 pm

Kreig415 wrote:Encoding is different, trust me.


Trust you on what? Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. Everyone is not entitled to their own facts. Valid US-ASCII files are valid UTF-8 files. If Windows screws this up in some way, it doesn't change that fact.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby Kreig415 » Tue Jan 04, 2011 6:08 pm

...
Last edited by Kreig415 on Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kreig415
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 9:02 pm
Location: SF CA US

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:28 pm

Kreig415 wrote:the compatibility is intended in the reverse i.e. an ASCII interpretation of a UTF-8 file.


Not sure what you mean (all ASCII files are valid UTF-8 files; not all UTF-8 files are valid ASCII files), but It loads fine either way, though selecting UTF-8 from the Notepad dropdown should be avoided as per the link above.

stutunaru wrote:mine doesnt work.....have no idea why.


It doesn't work because it's a web page:

http://www.cbs.com/sports/video/?pid=vh ... Y9C4fF9t2v

chocolateboy wrote:Change the <enclosure url="..." /> link in the RSS to any (direct) video link e.g. .flv, .avi, .mp4 &c.


It needs a script and a downloader (and a patch).

Also, if you only want to stream a single video, you're better off adding it as a videostream rather than creating a feed:

Code: Select all
videostream.Web,CBS=Zurich Classic of New Orleans Preview,http://www.cbs.com/sports/video/?pid=vhauVUZAN1_zaY17YIzyARY9C4fF9t2v,http://wwwimage.cbs.com/Common/images/headers/hdr_main_logo.jpg


If you want to stream multiple videos from that site, you're better off using their RSS feeds:

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2005/01/ ... 6437.shtml
http://www.cbssports.com/xml/rss
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby stutunaru » Wed Jan 05, 2011 3:56 am

chocolateboy wrote:
Kreig415 wrote:the compatibility is intended in the reverse i.e. an ASCII interpretation of a UTF-8 file.


Not sure what you mean (all ASCII files are valid UTF-8 files; not all UTF-8 files are valid ASCII files), but It loads fine either way, though selecting UTF-8 from the Notepad dropdown should be avoided as per the link above.

stutunaru wrote:mine doesnt work.....have no idea why.


It doesn't work because it's a web page:

http://www.cbs.com/sports/video/?pid=vh ... Y9C4fF9t2v

chocolateboy wrote:Change the <enclosure url="..." /> link in the RSS to any (direct) video link e.g. .flv, .avi, .mp4 &c.


It needs a script and a downloader (and a patch).

Also, if you only want to stream a single video, you're better off adding it as a videostream rather than creating a feed:

Code: Select all
videostream.Web,CBS=Zurich Classic of New Orleans Preview,http://www.cbs.com/sports/video/?pid=vhauVUZAN1_zaY17YIzyARY9C4fF9t2v,http://wwwimage.cbs.com/Common/images/headers/hdr_main_logo.jpg


If you want to stream multiple videos from that site, you're better off using their RSS feeds:

http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2005/01/ ... 6437.shtml
http://www.cbssports.com/xml/rss


@chocolateboy - you rock!!!!!
thanks a lot man.
i'll still google to find out how to use the *.rss files and add them in WEB.conf
appreciate everyones feedback.

Update....
have created a videofeed using the http://www.cbsnews.com/feeds/rss/mostpopular/video.rss and shows me the titles but it gives me "the data are corrupted"
take a look at the debuglog and please help to figure it out....

the same story is for imagefeed.Web,Test,Test1=http://www.cbsnews.com/feeds/rss/mostpopular/photo.rss

debuglog http://hotfile.com/dl/94336992/0c5ad28/debug.rar.html
stutunaru
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:05 pm

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby chocolateboy » Wed Jan 05, 2011 11:34 am

(There's no need to repost the entire comment you're replying to.)

stutunaru wrote:Update....
have created a videofeed using the http://www.cbsnews.com/feeds/rss/mostpopular/video.rss and shows me the titles but it gives me "the data are corrupted"
take a look at the debuglog and please help to figure it out....


chocolateboy wrote:It needs a script and a downloader (and a patch).


If the feeds contain links to articles rather than videos, then it won't work. If you haven't customized the script, it won't work. If you haven't installed perl, it won't work. If you haven't installed and patched get-flash-videos, it won't work. If you haven't installed and correctly set up rtmpdump, it won't work. If you don't know what that means or how to do it, then it won't work. If you've done all of the above and are using Windows, then it still may not work.

It works for me on Linux. If you want it to work for you, you'll either have to figure it out yourself or wait.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby stutunaru » Wed Jan 05, 2011 2:45 pm

chocolateboy wrote:
If the feeds contain links to articles rather than videos, then it won't work. If you haven't customized the script, it won't work. If you haven't installed perl, it won't work. If you haven't installed and patched get-flash-videos, it won't work. If you haven't installed and correctly set up rtmpdump, it won't work. If you don't know what that means or how to do it, then it won't work. If you've done all of the above and are using Windows, then it still may not work.

It works for me on Linux. If you want it to work for you, you'll either have to figure it out yourself or wait.

it's on windows. thanks anyway for your effort.
stutunaru
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 8:05 pm

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby ErwanGWN » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:22 pm

Hi all !

What about the web.conf on max OSX i can't find it !

Someone know how to put web feeds from max osx to ps3 ?

Thank u !
ErwanGWN
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:15 pm

Re: How to add web video stream to WEB.conf ?

Postby chocolateboy » Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:54 pm

ErwanGWN wrote:What about the web.conf on max OSX i can't find it !


viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&p=32731#p32731
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2577
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests