[solved ]Forced Subs are not displayed

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

[solved ]Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby 123helge » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:13 pm

Hi,

first of all i have to say that the ps3 media server is such a great tool!thanks for that!
but there is still one thing bothering me... maybe i'm to stupid ;)
i have a video with forced subs. with vlc the subs are displayed fine... but if i'm streaming the video to the ps3 no subs are displayed.
i tried a few options like:
de,de;ger,ger;en,de;eng,ger;en,en;eng,eng;en,off;eng,off;*,off

nothing works :(

media info says:
Code: Select all
Format                           : Matroska
File size                        : 4.37 GiB
Duration                         : 1h 33mn
Overall bit rate                 : 6 702 Kbps
Encoded date                     : UTC 2009-02-08 09:33:26
Writing application              : mkvmerge v2.0.0 ('After The Rain Has Fallen') built on Jan 13 2007 19:58:56
Writing library                  : libebml v0.7.7 + libmatroska v0.8.0

Video
ID                               : 1
Format                           : AVC
Format/Info                      : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile                   : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC           : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames        : 5 frames
Muxing mode                      : Container profile=Unknown@4.1
Codec ID                         : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration                         : 1h 33mn
Bit rate                         : 5 659 Kbps
Nominal bit rate                 : 5 931 Kbps
Width                            : 1 280 pixels
Height                           : 544 pixels
Display aspect ratio             : 2.35
Frame rate                       : 23.976 fps
Resolution                       : 24 bits
Colorimetry                      : 4:2:0
Scan type                        : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)               : 0.339
Title                            : 96 Hours
Writing library                  : x264 core 66 r1101M b69548a
Encoding settings                : cabac=1 / ref=5 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=7 / psy_rd=1.0:0.0 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=0 / deadzone=21,11 / chroma_qp_offset=-2 / threads=6 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=3 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=5931 / ratetol=1.0 / qcomp=0.60 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=1:1.00

Audio
ID                               : 2
Format                           : DTS
Format/Info                      : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID                         : A_DTS
Duration                         : 1h 33mn
Bit rate mode                    : Constant
Bit rate                         : 768 Kbps
Channel(s)                       : 6 channels
Channel positions                : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                    : 48.0 KHz
Resolution                       : 24 bits
Title                            : DTS
Language                         : German

Text
ID                               : 3
Format                           : UTF-8
Codec ID                         : S_TEXT/UTF8
Codec ID/Info                    : UTF-8 Plain Text
Title                            : Forced subs
Language                         : German


i'm using PS3 Media Server v1.09.1
many thanks in advance
helge
Last edited by 123helge on Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
123helge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby shagrath » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:34 pm

you mean IDX/SUB (or VobSub) subtitles ? that's not supported in mencoder alone, you have to use AviSynth/Mencoder
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby 123helge » Tue Feb 24, 2009 12:56 pm

many thanks for your reply...
shagrath wrote:you mean IDX/SUB (or VobSub) subtitles ? that's not supported in mencoder alone, you have to use AviSynth/Mencoder

how can i find out which subtitles are in the video? how do i use avisynth/mencoder? i used this howto: http://otmanix.de/2009/01/30/howto-ps3-media-server-auf-windows-xp/comment-page-1/ it's in german but as you can see i installed avisynth ...
123helge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby shagrath » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:03 pm

well, it should work "out of the box", minus some bugs :)
to debug the problem

- try to launch with avisynth/mencoder
- when the unsupported data message appears on the ps3, go back to your PC, and search for an *.avs file inside
the <yourwindowstempfolder>/javaps3media folder
- try to launch this .avs file with your video player
- it should display an error message or something like that
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby 123helge » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:26 pm

hmmm the video does not play with avisynth/mencoder ... when i'm trying to play the video at my ps3 the media servers buffer counts negativ... see attachments... so i can't start the video, no errormessage...
Attachments
pms_config_men.jpg
pms_config_men.jpg (146.17 KiB) Viewed 949 times
pms_config.jpg
pms_config.jpg (152.78 KiB) Viewed 949 times
pms_count.jpg
pms_count.jpg (51.16 KiB) Viewed 949 times
123helge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby 123helge » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:43 pm

ok video works with avisynth/mencoder... my fault...
unsupported data message does not appear on the ps3 but still no subs!
123helge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby shagrath » Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:51 pm

oh the beta is not very stable at the time, maybe you should revert to the 1.04 for VobSub playing
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby 123helge » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:37 pm

ahh :D works fine now! many thanks!!! :D
123helge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby 123helge » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:45 pm

still an other question ;)
my 1080p videos are now very laggi with avisynth/mencoder... using mencoder doesn't lag... what can i do to avoid this problem?
123helge
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Forced Subs are not displayed

Postby Stryker412 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:57 pm

Helge did you use that German guide to make a video with forced subs? I wanted to try ripping Black Hawk Down with forced subs.
Stryker412
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:22 pm

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests