PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby likiii » Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:55 pm

Hi mates,

I have a doubt. I need to connect the PS3 with PS3MediaServer but I only want to use a wifi router. Without internet, only the router. Can I connect it? I have tried but the ps3 must be connected the internet ON.

I want to put my console Off of internet to avoid a system update. :roll:

Thanks
likiii
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:27 am

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby meskibob » Sun Sep 26, 2010 2:11 pm

a) Yes, it can still work without an internet connection, but there's no way to disable just the internet connection from within the PS3. You'll need to do that on the router side of things.
b) Just because it's connected to the internet doesn't mean you'll be forced to download the FW update...
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4763
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby AlphaMale » Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:03 am

What also helps is to configure your PS3 to NOT automatically log on (to the PSN network).
AlphaMale
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 2:43 pm

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby likiii » Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:01 am

Yeah, I know that i will not be forced to update, but... I don't want fail :D

What is the way to put off the ps3 internet from router?

Thanks..
likiii
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:27 am

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby meskibob » Mon Sep 27, 2010 2:11 am

That's going to depend on the router...
Give the Google a search.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4763
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby lufkin » Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:15 am

couldnt you set up the network manually on ps3 and just leave dns settings blank or if wont let you leave it blank just put incorrect dns in, that way still connected to network for media server but not the net?
lufkin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby meskibob » Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:08 pm

I just tried putting in what I assume are crap DNS addresses (1.2.3.4 and 4.3.2.1), but somehow everything (connection test, system update check, PSN, PS3 browser to Google) still seemed to work...?
I'm pretty sure it's easier to kill it at the router level with a simple firewall rule.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4763
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby lufkin » Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:54 pm

dang was worth a shot what router have you got likiii?
lufkin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby likiii » Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:18 am

Zyxel p660hw-d1...

Solution:
DNS1: 1.2.3.4
DNS2: 5.6.7.8


Thanks for replys mates
likiii
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:27 am

Re: PS3 WITHOUT INTERNET // AVOID SYSTEM UPDATE

Postby ruderbager » Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:17 am

i've been looking for this thread for days now, but it hasn't solved anything for me yet.

i want to connect the pc to ps3 to stream music & movies etc but i don't have an adsl connection for now as we have moved.
I haven't been able to connect them in the same format i had before - both wireless. it still requests an internet connection and won't find the media servers.
This is doing my head in.
i've tried running the ethernet cables with no luck.

does anyone have any ideas to test/check? it is getting wireless signal and i've reset the password to no avail.
it worked by doing the auto setup and putting password in last time - the only difference is no adsl connection as far as i can see but it's not working.
ruderbager
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 3:04 am

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests