Sony Bravia KDL- 40Z5710 (video lag)

Discuss alternative media renderers (not PS3) supported by PS3 Media Server (e.g. Xbox 360, TVs &c.)

Sony Bravia KDL- 40Z5710 (video lag)

Postby Raziel022 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 9:37 am

I'm using the 1.20.409 version, everything works fine, I can see all my videos on TV, even with subtitles .srt

The problem is that after a few minutes the videos stops. If you pause the video and wait you can continue...for a few minutes more. I think is a buffering problem, or something like that, ¿How should I configure the server to see my videos fluently?

PC:

Win XP
Quad Core 2.5 Ghz
4 Gb RAM
PLC conection between the PC and the TV (No wifi)

With PlayOn (another server) I don´t have this buffering problem, so, it has to something with the PS3 media server.

Thanks for anwsering!
Last edited by Raziel022 on Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Raziel022
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: Sony Bravia KDL- 40Z5710

Postby Raziel022 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:16 am

Well, definitely is a buffering problem.

When a movie is playing the Buffer status begins in 8000/10000 kb/s and stays so during 2 or 3 minutes but the buffer status bar goes down and down until 0 (and the bitrrate suddenly too). Then the movie stops. Any idea?

Thanks
Raziel022
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: Sony Bravia KDL- 40Z5710

Postby WorldOfHurt » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:33 am

Presumably you are transcoding, and your CPU can't keep up.

Not much the software can do in that situation, I'm afraid.

Strange that another server can manage it, though. What does PlayOn use for transcoding?
User avatar
WorldOfHurt
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:49 pm
Location: Winchester, UK

Re: Sony Bravia KDL- 40Z5710

Postby Raziel022 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:52 am

Yes, I'm transcoding.

There are some other strange things, if my firewall is not working (outpost) I can see a text below the TV picture in the status zone of ps3 media server that says 19 Mb/s. But if the firewal is enabled there is no text. In both cases I can´t see more than 2 or 3 minutes of video before it stops.

I can´t start the server with the .exe or .bat files. "Could not create the java virtual machine" I only can start with the .jar file. (I tried with different versions of java).

I don´t know how PlayOn works, but I works fine for me (it´s a pitty that doesn´t support subtitles). Wild media server plays perfect too (but it's not free xD).

If is something about my PC, can I config the server somehow in able to work fine? But....why PlayOn/Wild media server works and Ps3 media server not? I think is not my computer, is not to old and I'm not trying to play HD video files.

Thanks for anwsering!
Raziel022
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:07 pm


Return to Alternative Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest