Failed to Bind

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Failed to Bind

Postby skeety » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:52 pm

Not sure why my PS3 Media Server is suddenly not recognizing my PS3.

Worked for over a year. Now, all of a sudden, I'm getting exceptions saying "Failed to Bind to: /192.168.1.6"

192.168.1.6 is the IP of my PS3. ANd this IP has worked the whole time. now it's not working.

I did download a new PS3 update a couple weeks ago..but again, is use the PS3MS daily since then, and all of
a sudden, this morning, it's not working.

I'm using using PS3 Media Server v1.20.409

I'm running PS3 Media Server on a server running Windows Home Server. So I'm wondering if I'm having a JAVA problem?
But WHS doesn't run java well, due to security protection...so not sure if I need a Java update?

ANY help would be appreciated!

here's the trace:

Code: Select all
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 Starting Java PS3 Media Server v1.20.409
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 by shagrath / 2008-2010
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 http://ps3mediaserver.blogspot.com
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 Java 1.6.0_20-Sun Microsystems Inc.
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 OS Windows 2003 x86 5.2
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 Encoding: UTF-8
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.375 Temp folder: C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\javaps3media
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.500 Loading configuration file: Bravia4500.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.500 Loading configuration file: Bravia5500.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.500 Loading configuration file: FreeboxHD.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: Kuro.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: Philips.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: PopcornHour.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: PS3.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: Realtek.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: Samsung.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.515 Loading configuration file: Streamium.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.531 Loading configuration file: WDTVLive.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.531 Loading configuration file: XBMC.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.531 Loading configuration file: XBOX360.conf
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.531 Checking font cache... launching simple instance of MPlayer... You may have to wait 60 seconds !
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.640 Done!
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.640 Found AviSynth plugins dir: C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.640 !!! It seems VSFilter.dll is not installed into the AviSynth plugins dir ! It could be troublesome for playing subtitled videos with AviSynth !!!
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.656 Registering transcoding engine AviSynth/FFmpeg
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.656 Registering transcoding engine FFmpeg Audio
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine MEncoder
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine Avisynth/MEncoder
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine MPlayer Audio
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine MEncoder Web
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine MPlayer Video Dump
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine MPlayer Web
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine TsMuxer
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine Audio High Fidelity
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Executable of transcoder profile VideoLan Audio Streaming not found!
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Executable of transcoder profile VideoLan Video Streaming not found!
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine FFmpeg DVR-MS Remux
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.671 Registering transcoding engine Raws Thumbnailer
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.921 Scanning network interface eth0 / Realtek RTL8102E/RTL8103E Family PCI-E Fast Ethernet NIC
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.921 Using forced address 192.168.1.6
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.921 Created socket: /192.168.1.6:5001
[main] TRACE 10:44:50.984 org.jboss.netty.channel.ChannelException: Failed to bind to: /192.168.1.6:5001
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.bootstrap.ServerBootstrap.bind(ServerBootstrap.java:296)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at net.pms.network.HTTPServer.start(HTTPServer.java:152)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at net.pms.PMS.init(PMS.java:391)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at net.pms.PMS.get(PMS.java:1106)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at net.pms.PMS.main(PMS.java:1170)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000 Caused by: java.net.BindException: Cannot assign requested address: bind
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at sun.nio.ch.Net.bind(Native Method)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketChannelImpl.bind(Unknown Source)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at sun.nio.ch.ServerSocketAdaptor.bind(Unknown Source)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.socket.nio.NioServerSocketPipelineSink.bind(NioServerSocketPipelineSink.java:148)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.socket.nio.NioServerSocketPipelineSink.handleServerSocket(NioServerSocketPipelineSink.java:100)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.socket.nio.NioServerSocketPipelineSink.eventSunk(NioServerSocketPipelineSink.java:74)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.Channels.bind(Channels.java:671)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.AbstractChannel.bind(AbstractChannel.java:170)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.bootstrap.ServerBootstrap$Binder.channelOpen(ServerBootstrap.java:342)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.Channels.fireChannelOpen(Channels.java:190)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.socket.nio.NioServerSocketChannel.<init>(NioServerSocketChannel.java:80)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.socket.nio.NioServerSocketChannelFactory.newChannel(NioServerSocketChannelFactory.java:142)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.channel.socket.nio.NioServerSocketChannelFactory.newChannel(NioServerSocketChannelFactory.java:90)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    at org.jboss.netty.bootstrap.ServerBootstrap.bind(ServerBootstrap.java:275)
[main] TRACE 10:44:51.000    ... 4 more
skeety
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Failed to Bind

Postby WorldOfHurt » Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:01 pm

You don't force the address of the server to that of the PS3... you are not allowed 2 devices on a IP network with the same address, so of course BIND fails.

If you want to force the IP, make sure it is valid for the server.
User avatar
WorldOfHurt
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:49 pm
Location: Winchester, UK

Re: Failed to Bind

Postby skeety » Fri Jul 30, 2010 4:06 pm

if I force it...I should be using the IP of the WHS server? Not the PS3? My mistake. Thought I was telling the PS3MS the ip of the PS3. Instead, I'm should be telling the PS3MS it's OWN IP??

Wonder why it worked for over a year...

Ok...so when I do that, it tells me PS3 not found
skeety
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 8:08 pm

Re: Failed to Bind

Postby Xero3388 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:12 pm

I ended up just deleting the forced ip from Gen Config in the media player all together and mine was found... i was reading the same debug as you
Xero3388
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 4:08 pm

Re: Failed to Bind

Postby meskibob » Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:46 pm

Please don't necropost or duplicate post.
Check the FAQ for additional details - viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3507&p=32731#p34933
Thread locked.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4768
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests