PS3/MP4 Issue

For help and support with issues specific to Mac OS X
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby jsfarmer » Fri Apr 23, 2010 5:03 pm

Ok so I have an older g3 mac laptop that I'm using as a server with PS3 Media server with my PS3.

I have .MP4 files that I can copy with a thumbdrive and they play fine.
The same files will not stream-I get corrupted file error
I cannot copy files, they copy but will not play
It seems PS3 Media Server is trying transcode files that should just stream/play

Help?
Is there a way to tell it to just use .MP4 files without doing any conversion?

I realize my hardware is low power but I'd be happy to just turn off all video transcoding and use the app as a server alone.
jsfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:51 pm

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby cheule » Sat Apr 24, 2010 2:11 am

PMS will not transcode on non-intel macs. That being said, did you add mp4 to the never transcode field in the settings?
cheule
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:18 am

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby jsfarmer » Sat Apr 24, 2010 4:35 am

I would be happy to, where is that setting? Is it in preferences?
jsfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:51 pm

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby jsfarmer » Sat Apr 24, 2010 4:37 am

Wait, I just found the option. Just enter ssomething like:
"mp4, avi" and so on without the quotes?
jsfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:51 pm

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby cheule » Sat Apr 24, 2010 3:21 pm

jsfarmer wrote:Wait, I just found the option. Just enter ssomething like:
"mp4, avi" and so on without the quotes?


"mp4,avi" No quotes, spaces or periods, but comma separated.
cheule
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:18 am

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby jsfarmer » Sat Apr 24, 2010 10:42 pm

Ok, I made that change in the "skip transcode" options. Anything else to check or change? That alone did not work
jsfarmer
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 4:51 pm

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby cheule » Sun Apr 25, 2010 1:53 am

That should do it. Time to follow this thread viewtopic.php?f=6&t=496 and post a detailed report of your spesc so that we can better help you.
cheule
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:18 am

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby invictus1er » Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:34 am

1- Your computer specs (2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 2GB, 667Mhz DDR2 SDRAM, MAC OS X 10.5.8) and the precise server version you're using (eg 1.10.5)
2- Your local network setup including connection type ( gigabit ethernet) and what you're connected through (direct connection to router) --> e.g. PC -> Linksys WRT54G Router <-1000mbps-> PS3
3- Device you are streaming to (PS3)
4- Which engine you are using if you're transcoding (MEncoder)

Having the same issue described above. Issues with all Mp4... I've had a rare occasion of them (Mp4 files) playing for about 5 secs beofer giving the "corrupted file error".
invictus1er
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:57 pm

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby cheule » Mon Apr 26, 2010 2:28 pm

Since you are using 1.10.5, let's get you on the latest beta of 1.20 which is a large leap forward. The latest rev (as of today) is r409, and can be downloaded here: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1635
cheule
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:18 am

Re: PS3/MP4 Issue

Postby invictus1er » Mon Apr 26, 2010 7:25 pm

Ok. So I updated to the latest beta of 1.20 (thanks for the link), and while initially there was not a difference (mp4 not playing;"content cannot be played"), I was able to get the mp4 files to play by doing the following:

Each movie file has a folder, in each movie folder there is the "movie.mp4" and a "#--TRANSCODE--#" folder. Inside the #--TRANSCODE--#, there is a folder that contains 3 files, one of them named "movie.mp4 [MEncoder]*" <----This file plays perfectly!

So my question now is WHY? And how can I get these mp4 files to play without drilling down into each folder (I hope to consolidate and have all movies in one folder versus each movie having its own folder, is that even possible?)

Thanks!

***UPDATE***
OK! So here is what worked to get mp4 files played perfectly without going into TRANSCODE folder.

1. On the PS3, in Audio Output Settings, I only selected Dolby Digital 5.1 ch. as an option (besides the linear ones that are automatically selected)
2. Disabled "Kepp DTS audio in stream"; don't know if this makes a difference, but disabled it.
3. In the "Force Transcode.." field under Common Transcode settings, I put mp4
This way, all mp4 files have the [MEncoder] next to the file name and everything plays.

Hope this helps. Worked for me.
invictus1er
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 9:57 pm

Next

Return to Mac OS X Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests