Required system / Performance

Download and discuss official beta builds here

Required system / Performance

Postby acemt » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:44 pm

Hi all,

I have tried the latest Beta build and realized it wont push 1080p to my PS3 without stuttering. Newest Beta Version and latest Stable version

Win Box: Pentium D 3.6 with 1G Ram with Windoze 7. Cat 5 hard connection

I then, out of curiosity since it worked with 720p, tried my IMAC. PS3 Media server 1.2

Imac: 2.4 Core 2 Duo with 4G Ram, Snow Leopard, Wireless N

Everything ran smoothly. I thought for sure the wired connection would work better even thought the processor is not as powerful. Any ideas what would be required for an upgrade to get the Windoze box to work as it has all my movies on it and now have to copy whatever I want to watch to the Imac to stream it.

Thanks

Mark
acemt
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby shagrath » Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:11 pm

I don't know if your Pentium D is fast enough to handle 1080p in real time
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby acemt » Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:33 pm

obviously it must not be. Didn't know if it was that or the amount of ram.
acemt
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby myjpkl » Wed Apr 07, 2010 3:47 pm

I was using E6600 , 4gig ram , ATI4870, 1080p stuttering as well. Some that played, half way through the movie.. audio went missing.
Upgraded to i3 530, 4gigddr3, use back ATI4870, problem solved. Well except some movie like Coraline
myjpkl
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:14 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby lufkin » Thu Apr 08, 2010 4:50 am

i have E4600 4 gig ram, 8800GT and 1080p is perfect
lufkin
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:51 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby Flak » Sun Apr 11, 2010 1:30 am

try changing the order of the transcode engines so tsmuxer is used first and don't force transcoding. if tsmuxer doesn't work then try forcing transcoding. doing it this way I was able to downgrade the machines at some of my clients houses that are used to stream media.
Flak
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2009 9:40 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby acemt » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:02 pm

Upgraded to Pentium 2 5700 and all is good now
acemt
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:26 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby pete420 » Sat May 15, 2010 4:44 am

Am I missing something because all the hardware you guys have mentioned is better than what I use to push 1080 to my ps3, with a wired connection.
pete420
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 4:39 am

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby [STD]Ein » Thu May 20, 2010 5:40 pm

I've noticed that even with wired, setting a max bandwidth might be helpful. Some of the 1080p movies I was watching when transcoded to mpeg4 were peaking >125Mbit/s.. in other words way too much bandwidth for 100Mbit ethernet. Try something like 85 with 100mbit. Since doing that I haven't seen a single stutter, with an Athlon 64 x2 4400
[STD]Ein
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 5:37 pm

Re: Required system / Performance

Postby DPT » Mon Jun 14, 2010 2:15 pm

Huh how can you get that high bandwith? Im on this system and sometimes i get lag "stutter"
AMD Phenon x4 9600 Quad core
4 Gb corsair ram

My settings is set to Best quality and yes i have enabled the multi core option.

Regrards DPT
DPT
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 10:17 am


Return to Beta Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests