[SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Download and discuss official beta builds here

[SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Fixx » Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:09 am

In 1.20.400, I'm successfully using "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" custom option, but then I installed the 1.20.409 and that custom options is not working. I'm using this options because the correct aspect ratio at my Philips NetTV. Otherwise videos other than 16:9 are stretched.
Last edited by Fixx on Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Fixx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:23 am

Re: 1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Fixx » Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:40 pm

An addition: this command only broked in subtitled videos. Videos without subtitles working and aspect ratio correct, but when there are subtitle, that videos aspect ratio is broken.
Fixx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:23 am

Re: 1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Fixx » Sat Apr 03, 2010 9:25 am

Is there anyone who solves this problem, or is it really a .409 problem, or is it just me? Because I revert back yo .400 and that expand option is not working still. Nothing changed in network or computer, I just installed .409 and expand option stops working.
Fixx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:23 am

Re: 1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby mazey » Sat Apr 03, 2010 12:08 pm

i think if u reinstall u need to uninstall/delete the ps3 media server dir, or else the exe files wont get updated/downgraded back to how they were in r400, all the windows builds were upgraded thats why the problem prob started. just try uninstalling and deleting the whole folder then reinstall r400. see if that works.
PMS 1.90.2 Snapshot - Intel Celeron G1840 2.8Ghz / Asus Z97m-plus / Corsair Vengeance 8GB / Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
mazey
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2009 9:07 am

Re: 1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Fixx » Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:10 am

I already did a folder delete on first revert try. But today, I deleted the folder and restarted computer, and installed .400 again. And it works with expand option.

Then I tried the same "restart before&after" method on .409, and it worked too:) So I think the important issue is "uninstalling, deleting folder, restarting, installing, restarting" steps. Problem is solved, expand option works in .409
Fixx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:23 am

Re: [SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby strictlyfocused » Sun Apr 25, 2010 5:44 am

Just curious, what exactly does the command "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" do?
strictlyfocused
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:52 am

Re: [SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Fixx » Sun Apr 25, 2010 8:16 am

strictlyfocused wrote:Just curious, what exactly does the command "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" do?


My dlna device, Philips LCD TV is stretching the video to fullscreen, not keeping it's aspect ratio, so if the video's aspect ratio is different from 16:9(1920x1080 LCD TV), then LCD TV is enlarged it to fullscreen means all people is get thin and tall, no black borders up and down.

This command keeps aspect ratio, so even if video is not 16:9, LCD TV shows it at correct aspect ratio, and puts black borders up and down.
Fixx
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:23 am

Re: [SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Ihmemies » Tue Jun 08, 2010 8:45 pm

I've been using

-vf expand=aspect=16/9,scale=-2:720,harddup

If your resolution is 1920*1080 use 1080 instead of 720... that way PMS transcodes all video to 1920*1080 without stretching and adds black borders when neccessary.. no risk of TV doing anything nasty. As an added bonus subtitles are always at same place.
Ihmemies
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 7:13 pm

Re: [SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Gothmoth » Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:44 pm

i have the same problem with build 409 on my sony bravia LCD.

i had no older version of PS3MS installed on that system. im new to PS3MS.

i tried both of the vf expand commands.... but the picture on my LCD does not change.

it always looks horiziontaly stretched.

PS3MS works good otherwise but this makes it useless for me. :cry:

can somone please help?
Gothmoth
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:31 pm

Re: [SOLVED]1.20.409 breaks "-vf expand=::::1:16/9" option

Postby Heathcliff » Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:47 pm

For Bravia I've used this with success:

:: -vf expand=::::1:16/9

Beware of the first two semicolons. This should work.
Heathcliff
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 1:31 pm

Next

Return to Beta Builds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest