DUAL core

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

DUAL core

Postby eskimos20 » Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:36 pm

Hi, just want to tell you guys that this server is the best thing that has happened for a long time..

I use COREAVC and then my cpu is used at 100%..

I tried the experimental memcoder in the new version and it is still a little bit buggy... ut uses about 95%.... and sometimes drops a little bit lower.. so my buffer gets empty :)

However I really really like this solution.. very nicely built..

I understand if this is just a fun project for yourself.. and we dont expect you to work on this further.... BUT if you do... do you want us to report on bugs and so on ?

/Eskimos20, Sweden
eskimos20
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:20 pm

Re: DUAL core

Postby fastjohn » Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:35 pm

CoreAvc rapes your CPU alot, unless it configured right.

I donno if this helps

I save this to a txt file incase im gonna use the CoreAvc

"I was able to figure it out based on another earlier discussion,
1) I just installed AVISynth
2) Then CoreAVC Pro
3) Made AVISynth/Mencoder the first trancoding engine

Now videos I couldn't play just using Mencoder alone now use the
CoreAVC codec and play perfectly at the best quality setting. Have a
1080p mkv of Planet Earth and it's playing flawlessly, before iit
would play but every so often would stutter, I would have to pause the
video for a few secs and then resume.

Few more observations, the CoreAVC codec seems to utilize more of my
CPU than Mencoder, my dual cores would sit around 60-70% with
Mencoder, with CoreAVC they sit in the 90% range. Not complaining if
it plays my videos just fine.


I was able to view HD content on my ps3 without lag by changing Avisynth/FFmpeg
encoding options to "-g 1 -qscale 1 -qmin 3 -maxrate 50M -bufsize 5M"

credits to whoever wrote this
fastjohn
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:14 pm

Re: DUAL core

Postby omel » Fri Jan 23, 2009 1:19 pm

fastjohn wrote:CoreAvc rapes your CPU alot, unless it configured right.

I donno if this helps

I save this to a txt file incase im gonna use the CoreAvc

"I was able to figure it out based on another earlier discussion,
1) I just installed AVISynth
2) Then CoreAVC Pro
3) Made AVISynth/Mencoder the first trancoding engine

Now videos I couldn't play just using Mencoder alone now use the
CoreAVC codec and play perfectly at the best quality setting. Have a
1080p mkv of Planet Earth and it's playing flawlessly, before iit
would play but every so often would stutter, I would have to pause the
video for a few secs and then resume.

Few more observations, the CoreAVC codec seems to utilize more of my
CPU than Mencoder, my dual cores would sit around 60-70% with
Mencoder, with CoreAVC they sit in the 90% range. Not complaining if
it plays my videos just fine.


I was able to view HD content on my ps3 without lag by changing Avisynth/FFmpeg
encoding options to "-g 1 -qscale 1 -qmin 3 -maxrate 50M -bufsize 5M"

credits to whoever wrote this



what hardware are you using

and what software (version) are you using
omel
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:52 pm

Re: DUAL core

Postby lablett » Sun Jan 25, 2009 1:15 am

What/How did you make AVISynth/Mencoder the first transcoding engine ?

Also how do you ensure AVI Synth is using coreavc ?
lablett
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 9:37 pm

Re: DUAL core

Postby mi6 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:29 am

lablett wrote:What/How did you make AVISynth/Mencoder the first transcoding engine ?

Also how do you ensure AVI Synth is using coreavc ?



Not sure if you got an answer but all you have to do is select the decoder and at the bottom there should be arrows.. click up / down and it will move the decoders the 1st one is the main decoder if it can't do it then it will move down the list that works for every other decoder video/audio

hope that helps
mi6
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 6:00 am

Re: DUAL core

Postby CowMix » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:48 am

fastjohn wrote:I was able to view HD content on my ps3 without lag by changing Avisynth/FFmpeg
encoding options to "-g 1 -qscale 1 -qmin 3 -maxrate 50M -bufsize 5M"

credits to whoever wrote this


Thanks :D .

You can also play around with these settings, that is just what I have found to work for me.
CowMix
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:45 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests