Now you can Shutdown PC From PS3

If you have a suggestion for a feature, post it here

Now you can Shutdown PC From PS3

Postby chacaman » Mon Feb 08, 2010 5:23 pm

i guys i find this command on internet
and i test it and is working

Code: Select all

import java.io.IOException;

public class Shutdown {

public String name() {
 return "Shutdown Windows From PS3";
}

 public static void main(String[] args) throws InterruptedException {
  Runtime runtime = Runtime.getRuntime();
  try {
   Process process = runtime.exec("Shutdown -r -t 00");
   } catch (IOException e) {
   e.printStackTrace();
  }
 }

}


you can probe Copy and Past the code to Notepad
save as Shutdown.Java

Go to CMD Run Javac Shutdown.Java
Next Run java Shutdown and yout pc is goin down

how can integrate like a pluing on the PS3MEdia Server?
Last edited by chacaman on Sun Feb 28, 2010 12:55 am, edited 3 times in total.
chacaman
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:38 pm

Re: Turn Of PC From PS3

Postby Chaoz » Wed Feb 17, 2010 5:02 am

That would be awesome so I second this request. Only I would want a sleep option.
Chaoz
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:26 pm

Re: Turn Of PC From PS3

Postby ozymandias » Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:28 am

If this is added, I would like the ability to completely disable this, and/or remove it.

It would also be nice if it required a password to be entered to invoke this.

Even better? Don't add it.
ozymandias
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 9:57 pm

Re: Turn Of PC From PS3

Postby Stratosphere » Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:30 pm

I see i'm not the only one who desires this addition. I thinks it's easy to do, and very helpul for those like me that doesn't like to get up to shut down my computer 30 meters far away at night.

Sorry for my english.
Stratosphere
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:25 pm

Re: Turn Of PC From PS3

Postby PlaystationFTW » Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:25 pm

Yeah integrate this feature please.
CBA to get off my bed to shut down my pc :D
PlaystationFTW
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 5:23 am

Re: Turn Of PC From PS3

Postby ottoman1384 » Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:56 pm

chacaman wrote:i guys i find this command on internet
and i test it and is working

Code: Select all

import java.io.IOException;

public class Shutdown {

public String name() {
 return "Shutdown Windows From PS3";
}

 public static void main(String[] args) throws InterruptedException {
  Runtime runtime = Runtime.getRuntime();
  try {
   Process process = runtime.exec("Shutdown -r -t 00");
   } catch (IOException e) {
   e.printStackTrace();
  }
 }

}


you can probe Copy and Past the code to Notepad
save as Shutdown.Java

Go to CMD Run Javac Shutdown.Java
Next Run java Shutdown and yout pc is goin down

how can integrate like a pluing on the PS3MEdia Server?


Great idea. I've been looking for something like this.

What would make this even better would be the following options:

PS3Media Server > Computer Options > Shutdown
PS3Media Server > Computer Options > Sleep
PS3Media Server > Computer Options > Hibernate
PS3Media Server > Computer Options > Restart
PS3Media Server > Computer Options > PS3 Media Server Restart

Right now, I am using NetAwake for the iphone to wake up my server and LightOut on the server end to hibernate the server after 2.5 hours of being awake.

Worked so far, but I'm worried about movies that last longer then 2.5 hours.

This would allow me to just turn it off after the movie ends.
ottoman1384
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:47 am

Re: Turn Of PC From PS3

Postby el.botijo » Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:17 am

From what I see, you provided the info on how to do that in Windows. This will be tricky to do in both Linux and Mac, as by default Unix systems default to not let users reboot or powerdown the machine easily. At least I cannot restart my machine at work easily.
These files of the PMS source code might be interesting if you plan to code this request yourself:
  • net.pms.external.AddAdditionalFolderAtRoot is part of the plugin system. It will create a folder at the root directory.
  • net.pms.VirtualVideoAction is how PMS creates items that do actions in the server side
  • net.pms, addVideoSettingssFolder method gives you an idea how to add the items to the virtual folder. That is, it overrides the method called enable of the VirtualVideoAction.
Before you ask, I am not in the mood of coding such a plugin. I hope these pointers can send you in the right direction. I do not see why this should not be able to be coded as a plugin. Good luck.
el.botijo
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:14 pm

Re: Shutdown PC From PS3

Postby chacaman » Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:47 pm

ok, i make some changes to the PMS.JAVA
i add some custom commands

in the #-Video Setting-# menu you will be see to new commads
1 - Shutdown Pc windows - in one minute the computers shutdown test on Windows XP, Vista, 7, Windows 2003,
2 - Shutdown Pc Linux - inmediatly test on ubuntu.

Ubunt users: this command is for enable shutdown command for normal users:
open terminal an type: sudo chmod u+s /sbin/shutdown
type the root password now you are ready for turn of linux from ps3

hehehe sorry for the 2 menu my first command on java :p
i need a book java for dummies heheheheh

PMS.JAR Turnf Off PC From PS3 v1
Test on PS3 Media Server 1.20.401
Last edited by chacaman on Mon Mar 01, 2010 3:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
chacaman
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:38 pm

Re: Now you can Shutdown PC From PS3

Postby el.botijo » Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:11 am

chacaman,
if you have the plugins capabilities, use it. I already explained how you can create a new folder at root via the plugins, and you know how to do the VirtualVideoActions from what I see of your post.
As a tip, I am using Eclipse IDE for Java. I wish I had such an IDE at work for Verilog that did all the stuff Eclipse does.
Regards.
el.botijo
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 9:14 pm

Re: Now you can Shutdown PC From PS3

Postby DeFlanko » Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:27 am

if you add this then you should also have the ability to flush and restart services frmo host PC.

Ive noticed form time ot time that the JAVA.exe is well over 600 MB on services. (maybe its just my pc.)

But once it reaches over this limit it locks up so im foreced to manually refresh the service.
Developed a few CONF files...
DeFlanko
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 6:49 pm
Location: San Pedro, CA

Next

Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests