Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

For help and support with issues specific to Mac OS X
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby 7ttman » Sun Nov 08, 2009 12:53 pm

This is really easy to fix.

You MUST set the IP address in the "general configuration" tab as the IP address of your MAC OS X computer that you are using to communicate to your PS3 device. If you are using a router of some kind, either wired or wireless, then the IP address has to be the one that you connect your MAC machine to the router.
7ttman
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 12:36 pm

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby villageidiot » Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:24 am

Ugh, never mind... followed the step-by-step instructions in this thread and it works now.
villageidiot
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:18 am

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby ALIBRA » Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:57 am

Manually setting the IP on under the general config will do the trick.
ALIBRA
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:49 am

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby snjadhav » Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:32 am

Hi

Before you force an IP please ensure that your firewall settings are correct. I changed my Firewall setting i.e. "Unchecked" the box "Block All incoming Traffic".

This resolved the problem of communication between the Mac and PS3 and getting the large RED X. I hope this information is useful.

Cheers
Shailendra
snjadhav
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 6:19 am

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby scrosland » Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:42 pm

I'm having trouble getting ps3mediaserver to work with a Samsung SPF-85v photo frame. The frame is a upnp renderer which works with Windows Media Player 11, but I'm having trouble getting it working with PMS. I have crafted a renderer .conf file which I think is about right, and I see in the firewall logs and in the debug.log that a connection is made and various commands are exchanged, but the frame refuses the believe that it is connected. I have attached a zip file containing the debug.log and my new renderer .conf file, would someone be able to take a look and give me some pointers?

Thanks,
Simon
Attachments
SamsungSPF85v.zip
(8.67 KiB) Downloaded 154 times
scrosland
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:30 pm

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby jenshuang » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:33 am

mac os x 10.5.8 connected to internet wirelessly via airport express
Dlink 524 Router
Internet IP - 192.168.2.1
Router IP - 192.168.0.1
PS3 Static IP - 192.168.0.103
PS3 NAT - Type 3
IMAC static IP - 192.168.0.102
Firewall on mac - allowed all incoming traffic
Port forwarding on router:
"PS3 MEDIA Server"
192.168.0.102 - public & private port 5001 for both udp and tcp/ip
PS3NAT1
192.168.0.103 - public and private port 443 3478 3479 3658 5223 80 5001 (I already tried enabling and disabling these ports)
Already tried latest beta version and 1.5 stable version of PS3 Media Server
Already tried forcing ip in PS3 Media Server and forcing networking according to interface found in network utilities
Already made sure UPNP is available on PS3


Here's what I get
[main] TRACE 00:28:04.656 Scanning network interface en1 / en1
[main] TRACE 00:28:04.657 Using forced address 192.168.0.102
[main] TRACE 00:28:04.659 Created socket: /192.168.0.102:5001
[Thread-3] TRACE 00:28:04.672 Starting DLNA Server on host 192.168.0.102 and port 5001...
[main] TRACE 00:28:04.749 Unable to retrieve MAC address for UUID creation: using a random one...
[main] TRACE 00:28:04.752 Using following UUID: e6e02126-caf1-3561-aa3a-127500ad05fe
[main] TRACE 00:28:11.163 It's ready! You should see the server appears on XMB

AND A BIG FAT RED X under PS3 Media Server status and nothing on PS3 XMB.

When I tried Medialink instead it can find my PS3 but only when I scan for media servers. Still PS3 does not pick up the server.

Help? Please. give me your best shot.
jenshuang
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:19 am

Can't find PS3

Postby FTA_25 » Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:10 am

my ps3 ddosent detect the media server. I am using a mac with a airport extreme is there any settings i should perform in the router or ps3 or mac itself to enable detection? thx any help is appreciated


--fta
FTA_25
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 1:48 am

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby dre0003@hotmail.com » Fri Feb 05, 2010 7:39 pm

Okay, I'm getting really frustrated. Here's what I've been through so far.

1. UPNP and Multicast are enabled on my router.
2. Port Forwarded 5001.
3. Forced IP on server and/or Forced networking interface.
4. Tried Rosetta/32-bit trick.
5. Firewall on laptop AND router are down.
6. Tried rebooting the whole network.

Nothing Works. The PS3 can see my friend's windows laptop without a hitch, but it cannot see mine. This would suggest an issue with the settings on my laptop? But as I said, there is no firewall.

The Trace stops here. And just like the other people who are having trouble, I get a big red X in the status screen:

[main] TRACE 12:38:09.111 Using address /192.168.0.14 found on network interface: name:en1 (en1) index: 5 addresses: /192.168.0.14;
[main] TRACE 12:38:09.112 Created socket: /192.168.0.14:5001
[main] TRACE 12:38:09.290 Unable to retrieve MAC address for UUID creation: using a random one...
[main] TRACE 12:38:09.292 Using following UUID: e6e02126-caf1-3561-aa3a-127500ad05fe
[main] TRACE 12:38:11.969 It's ready! You should see the server appears on XMB

Notes: My laptop is connected wirelessly and the PS3 is on a wired connection. Also, I'm using a router than my ISP provided. Model: Ambit Docsis 2.0
dre0003@hotmail.com
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 6:46 pm

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby nuuut » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:58 am

Hi everybody.

I recently switched from Windows to Mac and I naturally installed PS3 Media server (which was working very well on Windows).
But my iMac can't find my PS3.

Redlum wrote:- Try forcing your IP address or network interface in the settings (this is the number 1 fix).

My PS3 and my iMac have both proper IP adresses in my router.

Redlum wrote:- Make sure there is no firewall or something else blocking the connection.

My firewall hasn't been activated since I started my iMac (I checked and it is always desactivated).

Redlum wrote:- Disable any other media server you have running (like Medialink).

I directly installed PS3 Media Server, so there isn't any other.

Redlum wrote:- Make sure that you can ping your PS3, if not then it's probably an issue in your network.

I can ping my PS3 from my iMac.[/quote]


I don't know what to do.
If someone could help me, it would be nice.
Just tell me what you need to.

Thx.
nuuut
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:51 am

Re: Can't find PS3 / Network issues? Read this first!

Postby nuuut » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:39 pm

It works.
I saw that, in the general configuration, my default network card wasn't selected.
Il chose en0 and all goes straight.
nuuut
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:51 am

PreviousNext

Return to Mac OS X Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests