How to change temp folder?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

How to change temp folder?

Postby ElimGarak » Thu Feb 05, 2009 3:39 pm

Hello!
I've seen in the log that PS3MediaServer uses a temp folder on my C: drive.
Since I reserved it for SO only, I'd like to know haw can I change it to another drive(partition/address.
Thank you!
ElimGarak
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:54 am

Re: How to change temp folder?

Postby ElimGarak » Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:38 am

I wonder...
Could THIS be the reason why everytime I try to stream a big file (ie: a DVD ISO or a big DIVX) it freezes and the PS3MediaServer shuts down? Because the size of the file is bigger than the space avalaible on C:?
In that case, please let me know how to change it so I would solve a BIG issue.

Could this be related to the fact I had to reduce memory usage in wrapper.conf and have to launch the program with wrapper.exe instead of psm.exe, too?

Thank you for your work and support!!!
ElimGarak
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:54 am

Re: How to change temp folder?

Postby shagrath » Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:51 am

The temp folder is used only for the RSS pictures feeds download (and the Avisynth script). the video transcoding process is nothing but memory...
Don't worry about that, nothing will eat up your disk space :)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: How to change temp folder?

Postby ElimGarak » Fri Feb 06, 2009 1:27 pm

Thank you!
:-)
ElimGarak
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 10:54 am

Re: How to change temp folder?

Postby Subject2Change » Fri Feb 06, 2009 4:25 pm

Ahhh great I was wondering what happened to the transcoded files, figured it was like a temp folder like TVersity had. But if its just memory thats great, thinking I may upgrade to 8gigs just for the heck of it :p
Core2Duo E8400 (@ 3.0), 8gigs of Mushkin, Vista Home Premium SP2 64bit, 2.5 TB of Space, Wired to Linksys WRT54G wired to 80GB MGS4 PS3 on Sharp 32" 720p LCD TV
Subject2Change
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:28 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 12 guests