New Mencoder MT Windows build

General discussion about PS3 Media Server (no support or requests)

New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby shagrath » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:23 am

I'd like to have some feedbacks on the new mencoder multicore build for WIndows
you just have to replace mencoder_mt.exe inside the win32 folder with this one:

http://ps3mediaserver.googlecode.com/sv ... der_mt.exe

it's more recent, faster by a few percents (something like 3, maybe 4 % here), and more compatible with some m2ts
if nothing wrong happens, it will be included in 1.04

thanks
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Joksi » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:16 pm

Downloaded, try it after work :)
Joksi
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:32 pm

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Electrifying » Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:06 pm

Gonna try it right now. Lets hope that the a/v is more in sync now too :D

I am getting stuttering audio when i use the avisynth/mencoder transcoder as well as with avisynth/ffmpeg. So I can only use mencoder for transcoding. The only problem is that the audio frequently goes out of sync with mencoder. Mostly noticeable when I am watching some episodes of Knight Rider in HD (yeah we don't have alot of HD content by cable around here).
Electrifying
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:58 am

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Subject2Change » Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:09 pm

I'll give it a look see. Thx.
Core2Duo E8400 (@ 3.0), 8gigs of Mushkin, Vista Home Premium SP2 64bit, 2.5 TB of Space, Wired to Linksys WRT54G wired to 80GB MGS4 PS3 on Sharp 32" 720p LCD TV
Subject2Change
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:28 am

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Irvysan » Tue Feb 03, 2009 7:23 pm

No probs here working fine
Irvysan
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:24 pm
Location: Somewhere Near Mars (Earth!)

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Diodato » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:20 pm

This built fixed crashes of the previous mencoder_mt (bundled with v1.03) on some DVB-S2 streams.
So far didn't find any new problems.
For me it's definitely a keep :D

PS: There is a bug with transport streams having VC1 video - even though MT version is checked in the configuration the non MT gets launched (mencoder.exe). I'll try to post on the developer's site.
Diodato
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:36 am

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby shagrath » Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:33 pm

no need
this build (and the previous ones) doesn't support multithread VC1 decoding. CoreAVC is the only solution for that I think
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Diodato » Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:33 pm

shagrath wrote:no need
Sorry, but before I could read your reply I did post an issue... Can you cancel it?
Maybe for others a useful observation could be that using the "avisynth/mencoder" engine one does get better VC-1 performance on multi-core machines.
Diodato
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 2:36 am

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby Joksi » Wed Feb 04, 2009 12:04 am

I have noticed a thing with the new MEncoder (must be it, havent changed anything else), i watched a movie yesterday with the "old" MEncoder HT and i watched the same movie second time tonight, with the new MEncoder HT.
With the new one, in dark scenes (night/dark rooms) blacks and shadows are very unsmooth, like poor xvid SD resolutin.
It gets pixelated and big blocks appear!
Joksi
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:32 pm

Re: New Mencoder MT Windows build

Postby shagrath » Wed Feb 04, 2009 1:54 am

never noticed that
if you could test both of builds on same video extracts, once again , just to confirm ?
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2664
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests