Data Corrupted

For help and support with issues specific to Mac OS X
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Data Corrupted

Postby Matrox » Mon Dec 14, 2009 10:57 pm

Hi!

I just tried to play the latest Harry Potter (1080p, M2TS) and it says DATA CORRUPTED. Any ideas ?

It play just fine on my Imac with VLC.


Thanks!
Matrox
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:22 pm

Re: Data Corrupted

Postby PS-THREE » Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:34 am

Bad encoding, or incompatible encoding for the PS3.

You gotta tell the person who encoded it to encode x264 level 4.1, max 3 b-frames, max 4 ref frames as specified in the Blu-ray spec.
PS-THREE
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:30 am

Re: Data Corrupted

Postby Matrox » Wed Dec 16, 2009 1:24 am

This is a release for PS3. Here's the info:


Type.................: Movie
Platform.............: PS3
Compression Format...: RAR

Video Format.........: AVCHD
Codec................: x264, 2pass
Bitrate..............: 10.6 Mbps
Resolution...........: 1920x1080p
Aspect Ratio.........: 2.35:1
Runtime..............: 153 min
Audio Format.........: English DTS
Matrox
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:22 pm

Re: Data Corrupted

Postby cheule » Tue Dec 22, 2009 5:20 am

I have come across more and more movies that play fine with VLC on my mac, but claim to be corrupted when transcoding to my PS3. In every case, extracting the audio and video tracks with MKVtools, then remuxing the tracks back into an MKV with MKVtoolnix, has fixed the movie. My new muxed file plays fine. Doesn't take too long either. Perhaps 10 min to extract the files, and 3 min to remux.

P.s. when remuxing with MKVtoolnix, be sure to set your framerate for the video track to what the movie originally was, or your audio and video will lose sync. In 90% of the cases, this is 23.976
cheule
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 4:18 am


Return to Mac OS X Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests