Xbox 360 not getting detected?

For help and support with issues specific to Mac OS X
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Xbox 360 not getting detected?

Postby manu08 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 8:25 am

I'm new to this so please forgive me if I come off as being a fool in terms of configuring the options to get the Xbox 360 to be visible to PS3 Media Server. I have a 13" MBP, with OSX 10.6.2 installed [very recently upgraded from Leopard]. My laptop appears to be up-to-date according to the Apple Software Update. The 360 is not modified & has the latest firmware update installed on it. I have Java SE 6 installed on my notebook as well. I've also installed PS3 Media Server 1.10.5.

I have a 2Wire 2701HG-G router with a built in DSL-modem provided by my ISP; Bell Canada. My Xbox 360 is connected to the router via the ethernet cable & my notebook connects through Wi-Fi. On the router, I have opened up TCP & UDP port 5001 for my notebook.

When I run the PS3 Media Server I get "PS3 has not been found. Is it on? You can also check...." with a large red color X in the middle of the window. I have attached a png of a screenshot of what the "traces" section shows me on the PS3 Media Server software. My 360 does not pick up anything related to the PS3 Media Server.

What am I doing wrong? How can I resolve this so I can watch mkv files with on-the-fly transcoding on my Xbox 360? Generally my firewall is enabled but I've disabled it & tried as well with no luck. Even connecting the 360 directly via the ethernet cable to my notebook didn't work. :?

Appreciate all the help.
Attachments
screen-capture.png
traces
screen-capture.png (164.53 KiB) Viewed 6123 times
manu08

Re: Xbox 360 not getting detected?

Postby KrazyCowboys » Wed Nov 18, 2009 8:16 pm

bump.