using mac as an ethernet bridge

For help and support with issues specific to Mac OS X
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

using mac as an ethernet bridge

Postby ohoh7 » Fri Jan 30, 2009 6:51 am

So, my wireless connection seems to be too low to stream HD content from my mac, so I'm
trying to find a way to bridge my mac and my ps3 with ethernet. I looks like it can be done with
internet sharing, but I can't get it to work. Has anyone else been successful?

Or, is there a better way?

I have a wireless network, but it's in a totally different room. But, my mac and my ps3
are together.

Thanks.
ohoh7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:11 am

Re: using mac as an ethernet bridge

Postby bortek » Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:49 pm

Your mac is connected to a router ?
Your pS3 too ?
So you only have to indicate the mac's IP adress in PSM.
good luck
bortek
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:22 am

Re: using mac as an ethernet bridge

Postby ohoh7 » Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:14 pm

Actually, I just set up internet sharing on my mac and now my PS3 can
get to the internet through the mac by using its wired ethernet...which
is connected directly to the mac.

However, now I can't get the ps3 media server to recognize the ps3.
ohoh7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:11 am

Re: using mac as an ethernet bridge

Postby ohoh7 » Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:00 am

o.k., I'm getting closer.

My PS3 can access the internet. But, when I try to run the ps3 media server, I get
the error:

FATAL ERROR: Unable to bind on port: 5001 cause: Can't assign requested address.

I think I need to set port forwarding on my mac as you would on a router...how do I do that?

Paul
ohoh7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:11 am

Re: using mac as an ethernet bridge

Postby ohoh7 » Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:21 am

Nevermind.

I was forcing the wrong IP address for the server. It works now and my 1080 HD home videos
are streaming great!!! No stuttering.

Using a macmini as an ethernet bridge works really well...and it's really easy once
you figure it out.

Again, this PS3 media server kicks ass!
ohoh7
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:11 am

Re: using mac as an ethernet bridge

Postby nikolnikov » Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:29 pm

I am trying to do the exact same thing, but I've been getting the exact same errors. ohoh7, you said you were trying to use the wrong IP. Which one actually worked? I have a wifi IP and an ethernet "self-assigned" IP. I've tried both and neither work.

Here is my setup: PS3 hardwired directly to my 24" imac. PS3 and Mac share internet wirelessly via the mac.

Thanks.
nikolnikov
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2009 9:25 pm


Return to Mac OS X Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests