Massive problem after PMS working fine for a long time

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Massive problem after PMS working fine for a long time

Postby ben198705 » Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:21 pm

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and just signed up to see if anyone could help me resolve this huge problem I have been experiencing with PS3 media server that I just cant seem to fix, even after searching for a solution for hours on the web.
I had been using PS3 Media Server regularly for around 3 months with no problems whatsoever, playing various kinds of file types flawlessly from avi's to ogm's, but two days ago the program randomly stopped working for me. When I click the program icon i get the error message "Cannot create Java virtual machine", and the program doesnt start. I found that it will start if I open the executable JAR file found in the installation folder but even then, as soon as i try to play a file on the PS3 the program just disconnects itself from the PS3; so frustrating.
I eventually turned to TVersity as an alternative but have found it wont play my .ogm files so its not much use. I really want to fix PMS but I've never been so stumped by a problem before :?

Now from searching google I see that I'm not the only one to have experienced this problem. But I dont get why this is happening now, when the program had worked perfectly for the last three months? ASAIK I have changed absoloutely nothing on my PC's settings so I dont get what has caused this error.