No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby hakbar » Thu Mar 05, 2009 8:47 pm

Hello,

I am running PMS 1.10.1 on a Win Server 2003 with 2.00Ghz Xeon and 2GB Ram via Gig wired to PS3. When i tired to stream DTS videos, i get the Video clear, and the DST signal on the reciever is on, but no sound signal is processed. This happens with more than one DTS movie. Therefore, i am taking one case example for trouble shooting.

The movie i am trying to stream as follow:


Complete name :Independence.Day.1996.720p.BluRay.DTS.x264hV\Independence.Day.1996.720p.BluRay.DTS.x264-hv.mkv
Format : Matroska
File size : 7.95 GiB
Duration : 2h 24mn
Overall bit rate : 7 857 Kbps
Encoded date : UTC 2008-03-20 10:52:28
Writing application : mkvmerge v2.1.0 ('Another Place To Fall') built on Aug 19 2007 13:40:07
Writing library : libebml v0.7.7 + libmatroska v0.8.1

Video
ID : 2
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.1
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 12 frames
Muxing mode : Container profile=Unknown@4.1
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
Duration : 2h 24mn
Bit rate : 6 001 Kbps
Nominal bit rate : 6 344 Kbps
Width : 1 280 pixels
Height : 544 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 2.35
Frame rate : 23.976 fps
Resolution : 24 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.359
Writing library : x264 core 58 svn-745M
Encoding settings : cabac=1 / ref=12 / deblock=1:0:0 / analyse=0x3:0x113 / me=umh / subme=6 / me-prepass=0 / brdo=1 / mixed_ref=1 / me_range=16 / chroma_me=1 / trellis=1 / 8x8dct=1 / cqm=2 / deadzone=4,6 / chroma_qp_offset=0 / threads=6 / nr=0 / decimate=1 / mbaff=0 / bframes=5 / b_pyramid=1 / b_adapt=1 / b_bias=0 / direct=3 / wpredb=1 / bime=1 / keyint=250 / keyint_min=25 / scenecut=40(pre) / rc=2pass / bitrate=6344 / ratetol=1.0 / rceq='blurCplx^(1-qComp)' / qcomp=1.00 / qpmin=10 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / cplxblur=20.0 / qblur=0.5 / ip_ratio=1.40 / pb_ratio=1.30 / aq=1:0.5:13.0
Language : English

Audio
ID : 1
Format : DTS
Format/Info : Digital Theater Systems
Codec ID : A_DTS
Duration : 2h 24mn
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Resolution : 24 bits
Language : English


I tired to upload debug.log but it tells me "The extention log is not allowed" so here is the link for the file:

http://rapidshare.com/files/205754110/debug.log

Let me know if i missed anything
Any help will be really apprecieated.

Thank you in advance
hakbar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby shagrath » Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:12 pm

nothing particular in the log, the DTS track seems to be processed... something with your receiver, obviously... maybe an audio specialist here can help ? ;)
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby hakbar » Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:53 am

Yeah! that was my first thought. But the Ps3 is connected via HDMI to a Denon AVR-4306 ....
It has even more than DTS! my Blue Ray Disks play with DTS normally on this Denon.

Any Audio Experts?

Thanks alot,
hakbar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby hakbar » Fri Mar 06, 2009 7:02 am

Okey, here the msg i am getting on the Denon screen: DTS:neo6 Cinima

it looks really cool, but no sound :oops:

Also, usually it lights up the connected speakers on the right, and current active speakers due to the singal on the left.

on the right, all the speakers are led, but on the left no speaker is led!! and therefore no Audio coming out. it is very sad so see this happening :cry:

thanks,
hakbar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby Konceptz » Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:08 pm

if its saying neo 6 cinema that means its getting a 2 channel source and upconverting (if you will) to a 5.1 channel signal. Recheck all your connections and settings on the receiver. I've never used a Denon AVR so I'm sorry for the little help.
Konceptz
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:19 am

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby shagrath » Fri Mar 06, 2009 6:26 pm

and recheck on XMB if volume is on 'Normal' and audio is on 'Left+Right'
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby hakbar » Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:56 pm

Ps3 is connected to the Denon via HDMI, and DTS is enabled on the Denon. I played a DVD on the PS3 and DTS worked fine.
I checked XMB and volume is normal with left+right. (when i change that, i get the worst noise i ever heard!!)

still same issue :(
btw, i reformatted my system with a fresh install of PMS. still same issue. I am starting to install VMware now, so i can run multiple PMS and play with the codecs settings without to having worry about messing anything up ;)

any other thoughts on where the issue might be originating from?

thanks,
hakbar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby BeemerDream » Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:52 pm

If you want DTS to work in Media Server you have to use S/PDIF (toslink), not HDMI. ;)
BeemerDream
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 5:42 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby hakbar » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:04 pm

oh really :o

never thought of that!!
Correct me if i am wrong, S/PDIF (toslink) is an optical cable connection.

I always thought HDMI is as good as optical. when i do my audio setting in the ps3, it detect DTS and all the other audio options just like the optical.

I should give it a try and post the results!

thanks,
hakbar
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 6:27 pm

Re: No Audio with DTS signal - MEncoder

Postby meskibob » Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:38 pm

BeemerDream wrote:If you want DTS to work in Media Server you have to use S/PDIF (toslink), not HDMI. ;)

Absolutely false. I am able to have DTS passthrough to my Denon AVR-789 via HDMI.
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4768
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Next

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 23 guests