Web content will not stream

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:38 pm

Ali3nation wrote:C:\Program Files (x86)\PS3 Media Server

Should I be elsewhere?


chocolateboy wrote:Troubleshooting

  • Make sure the WEB.conf and the edited PMS.conf are in the profile directory (see here for the default locations).
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Streaming Youtube videos in HD

Postby arigatox » Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:28 am

I installed the latest version of pmsencoder. I have to delete the "scripts" folder becouse otherwise no web content was streamed.
Everything is working. I can see gametrailers videos and youtube videos ok. But youtube videos are streamed in 360p. I remember that in the older version, the videos were streamed in HD. Is there any configuration that I'm missing, or is that impossible?

Thanks.

EDIT: the version I installed is 1.5.14 running over PMS 1.52.0
arigatox
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:21 am

Re: Streaming Youtube videos in HD

Postby chocolateboy » Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:38 am

arigatox wrote:I have to delete the "scripts" folder


https://github.com/chocolateboy/pmsenco ... ki-Upgrade

youtube videos are streamed in 360p.


Unzip the attached file in the PMS working directory. Then set:

Code: Select all
pmsencoder.log.config = log4j.xml


- in PMS.conf. Then restart PMS; stream a YouTube video; and zip and attach the pmsencoder.log and debug.log files.
Attachments
log4j.xml.zip
(747 Bytes) Downloaded 65 times
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby arigatox » Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:11 pm

I have attached them.
I had to compress them with 7zip becouse otherwise the files were bigger than 256k (the forum limit).
If you need more info, please let me know.

Thanks chocolateboy.
Attachments
ConfigFiles.zip
(2.02 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
pmsencoderlog.7z
(82.67 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
arigatox
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:21 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:36 pm

It's downloading the 1080p version:

Code: Select all
2012-03-26 11:58:33 [DEBUG|Matcher|match|New I/O server worker #1-4]: matching URI: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KQ6zr6kCPj8&feature=youtube_gdata
2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Matcher|doCall|New I/O server worker #1-4]: checking fmt_url_map for 37
2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Matcher|doCall|New I/O server worker #1-4]: success
2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Command|let|New I/O server worker #1-4]: setting $youtube_fmt to 37


37 is the YouTube format code for 1080p. It also appears as the itag parameter in the URI:

2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Command|let|New I/O server worker #1-4]: setting $URI to http://o-o.preferred.cablevision-eze1.v ... arams=...&itag=37...


ffmpeg transcodes the file to DVD format, which is 720x480 (NTSC). There's no 360p involved, unless that's the highest format available, which is not the case for that video.

You can use MEncoder (not recommended) if you want to preserve the resolution, though the bitrate will be lower, the quality may not be better, and there will probably be more stuttering/sync problems:

youtube_mencoder.groovy

Code: Select all
check {
    profile ('YouTube MEncoder') {
        pattern {
            match 'YouTube'
        }

        action {
            $TRANSCODER = $MENCODER
        }
    }
}


For more details on how (and why not) to use this, see the Wiki.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby arigatox » Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:57 pm

I saw that on the logs,
Code: Select all
2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Matcher|doCall|New I/O server worker #1-4]: checking fmt_url_map for 37
2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Matcher|doCall|New I/O server worker #1-4]: success
2012-03-26 11:58:39 [DEBUG|Command|let|New I/O server worker #1-4]: setting $youtube_fmt to 37

But in my TV it was clear that wasn't 1080p. What I didn't know was that ffmpeg decreases the resolution to 720x480.

Well, now I'm forced to ask the next question... :oops:
Is there any possibility to change how ffmpeg transcode the video?

Please, it is nothing important nor critical. So just answer in your free time (if you have some).

Ps: could it be possible that in the previous version (I do not remember which version I had installed becouse I deleted the jar) the transcoding was at 720p?

Thanks.
arigatox
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:21 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:02 pm

arigatox wrote:could it be possible that in the previous version (I do not remember which version I had installed becouse I deleted the jar) the transcoding was at 720p?


Old versions (prior to 1.5.0) used MEncoder.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby arigatox » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:09 pm

chocolateboy wrote:Old versions (prior to 1.5.0) used MEncoder.


I'll try MEncoder and see what happens. I'll let you know the results.
arigatox
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 2:21 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby ratherDashing » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:04 pm

I am using 1.52 of ps3 media server.

I downloaded:

https://github.com/downloads/chocolateb ... 1.5.14.jar

placed it in the right directory. Edited the config file, and I see it loading the plugin in the status. There is even an icon to change the PMSEncoder properties, when I hit it, I just get a blank dialog.

and I used this Web.conf:

https://raw.github.com/chocolateboy/pms ... f/WEB.conf

The problem is, where in the PS3 menu do I play the steaming content? I see the folder I share with my movie files, but there is no entries to play the stuff in my WEB.conf. I know I'm being silly because I don't see anyone posting the same question but Under Videos or Music, I click on PS3 Media player Icon, and there are just directories, no listing for the PMS stuff!

I would really love to get SomaFM working for a party I'm throwing on Saturday so I don't have to use my cellphone any more.
ratherDashing
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:57 pm

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:37 pm

ratherDashing wrote:The problem is, where in the PS3 menu do I play the steaming content?


FAQ: The Web folder does not appear on my renderer.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests