Web content will not stream

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:21 am

I'll post an updated version of those WEB.conf entries (which should work out of the box) after the next release.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby sesemin » Tue Mar 01, 2011 4:28 am

infidel,

I installed pms-setup-windows-1.20.472 mlx v0.2.exe. The files you asked for are in the attached zip file.

Thank you

Can you attach a zip containing your whatever.groovy+debug.log+pmsencoder.log+WEB.conf+PMS.conf? Without that it's difficult to know what the precise problem might be. PMSEncoder is in a constant state of flux thanks to chocolateboy's ongoing improvements, so it may just be due to version incompatibility. Or of course it could be the the commandline itself.
Attachments
sesemin.zip
whatever.groovy+debug.log+pmsencoder.log+WEB.conf+PMS.conf
(6.95 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
sesemin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:17 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby infidel » Tue Mar 01, 2011 1:33 pm

PMSEncoder isn't finding the rtmpdump.groovy user script. Where is it located? On your setup its path shoud be
"C:\Program Files\PS3 Media Server MLX\pmsencoder\rtmpdump.groovy".

I'm on linux, but will be able to replicate your setup later in win32 if this wasn't the problem.
infidel
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:56 pm

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby sesemin » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:44 pm

I put both PMSEncoder and rtmpdump.groovy in the plugin folder. I don't have a pmsencoder folder. Should I make one and move those two file into it?
sesemin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 5:17 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby infidel » Tue Mar 01, 2011 2:52 pm

Yes, the user is supposed to create the pmsencoder folder. The pmsencoder.jar file should remain in the plugins folder, and rtmpdump.groovy should be in the pmsencoder folder.
infidel
 
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2010 4:56 pm

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby grolschie » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:05 pm

grolschie wrote:Hello. The new version of pmsencoder doesn't work for me. Well it does, but I suspect that the format being sent to my blu-ray player isn't recognised. The logs seem fine, and running the ffmpeg command from the commandline works. Is there any way to set the output format in pmsencoder?


Anyone? Thanks. I have tried version 1.5.1. Version 1.4.0 worked for me (except for some missing audio).
grolschie
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Thu Jun 10, 2010 7:05 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby dushashi » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:51 pm

Chocolateboy

Can you please help me.

This is how pmsencoder transcodes the content from megaupload in the following way

Code: Select all
$TRANSCODER = "$MENCODER -o $TRANSCODER_OUT -msglevel all=2 -quiet -prefer-ipv4 -oac lavc -of lavf -lavfopts format=dvd -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=4096:threads=1:acodec=ac3:abitrate=128 -ofps 25 -cache 16384 -vf harddup $DOWNLOADER_OUT"


How do I modify this code for so I don't lose the quality?
dushashi
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:57 pm

dushashi wrote:How do I modify this code for so I don't lose the quality?


I've answered that in detail already: http://ps3mediaserver.org/forum/viewtop ... 292#p46292
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby dushashi » Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:05 pm

Hi Chcolateboy

I am following your explanation. I understand that I cannot avoid transcoding. So now I am trying to find a way to increase the transcode quality.

Code: Select all
vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=4096:threads=1:acodec=ac3:abitrate=128


How can I improve this? Can i increase vbitrate? How much? Any other ways?
dushashi
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 11:11 pm

Re: Web content will not stream

Postby chocolateboy » Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:41 pm

grolschie wrote:I suspect that the format being sent to my blu-ray player isn't recognised.


You'll have to experiment (on the command line) with different mencoder/ffmpeg output settings and report what works (make sure you play them via #--TRANSCODE--# -> [No encoding]):

mencoder

Try varying the framerate e.g.:

  • 24000/1001
  • 24
  • 25
  • 30000/1001
  • 30

Code: Select all
mencoder -oac lavc -of lavf -lavfopts format=dvd -ovc lavc -lavcopts vcodec=mpeg2video:vbitrate=4096:acodec=ac3:abitrate=128 -ofps 25 -o deleteme.tmp input.vid


ffmpeg

Try varying the target e.g.:

  • ntsc-dvd
  • pal-dvd

Code: Select all
ffmpeg -i input.vid -target pal-dvd deleteme.tmp


You may have to use a different extension for the output file e.g. .mpg, .mpeg, .m2v, .mp2, .vob &c.
chocolateboy
Project Member
 
Posts: 2579
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 10:05 am

PreviousNext

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests