buffer not filling up, resulting in studdering

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

buffer not filling up, resulting in studdering

Postby suzook » Sun Feb 22, 2009 3:20 pm

Hi i am new to this program, coming from tversity. this is a great program, but my buffer does not fill up, it stays at the min, which results in studdering playback. I have a core2 2.6 on vista with 2gb of ram, running a raid with 20gb free space. does anyone know why my buffer wont fill up?

Edit. i guess you have to pause the movie a little to fill up the buffer? that seems to work. Is this what everyone does?
suzook

Re: buffer not filling up, resulting in studdering

Postby tongkk » Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:49 pm

Yes, if your CPU not fast enough, you need to pause the movie at the beginning and let the buffer to fill up, the slower the CPU, the large the buffer needed, For my Q9300 Quad-core CPU, I still need to wait until the 500 M buffer full , otherwise 1080p mkv with subtitle and DTS will lag. 720 p is OK, no need to pause the movie at the beginning.
tongkk

Postby ExSport » Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:18 pm

Never had to do it on Q6600. Also beginning part of movies is almost black = low bitrates so PMS have time to buffer frames before PS3 will request them...
ExSport

Postby nanfeldt » Mon Feb 23, 2009 11:29 am

Using a similar setup with a laptop i dumbed in the basement and i have the same issue when i play HD 1080p from a USB harddrive.

Funny thing is it seems to work well when i use the built-in 2.5" HD as source for mkv's

But what really annoys me is that even though i let the buffer fill up to 600 and start playback with a full buffer, its only around 10 minutes before the buffer is empty again, looking at the cores i have an avarage 65% load encoding

Any thoughts?
nanfeldt

Postby Subject2Change » Mon Feb 23, 2009 6:38 pm