PC wont find PS3 :(

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

PC wont find PS3 :(

Postby deadlysponge » Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:04 am

I imagine this must be a pretty common problem, but I only saw threads about the PS3 not seeing the media server, not the PC not seeing the PS3. No matter what I do I just get the big red X.

I enabled network discovery, forwarded port 5001, and even uninstalled TVersity to make sure this was the only streaming program running. (and yes, I turned on my PS3)

These are the last 3 lines in the traces

"FATAL ERROR: Unable to bind on port: 5001 cause: address already in use: bind"
"maybe another process is running or host name is wrong..."
"some serious errors occur"

SPECS:
Core2duo CPU, 2.3 ghz each
3 gigs of ram
100mb wired ethernet

Its probably something noobish, lol. Please help!
deadlysponge
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:53 am

Re: PC wont find PS3 :(

Postby shagrath » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:24 am

configure your firewall / antivirus / etc
shagrath
Project Lead
 
Posts: 2667
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:39 pm

Re: PC wont find PS3 :(

Postby Geterman » Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:38 pm

I had the same problem. I changed the "force port of the server" to 1080
Geterman
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: PC wont find PS3 :(

Postby NikNac » Mon Feb 16, 2009 8:15 am

Are you running other DLNA Media Servers? I'm pretty sure the last three lines explain it.

I had this message appear in my log files when I had FUPPES running on the same machine as PMS was running on.
NikNac
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:31 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 22 guests