Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

Postby PhantomTa2 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:43 pm

I have a file that was in 2 parts, both AVIs, so I joined them together with Virtualdub and it plays fine on my PC, no errors or anything, but when trying to stream it to my PS3 using TVersity or PS3 Media Server 1.03, I just get "Data Type Not Supported", this message also appears when trying to stream the original files without joining them. I think the audio is AC3, could this be the problem? If it is, how would I go about correcting it?
PhantomTa2
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

Postby meskibob » Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:55 pm

Having you tried playing them while in the Transcoding folder?
I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4788
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm

Re: Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

Postby PhantomTa2 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:00 pm

Sorry for the dumb reply but, transcoding folder? Where would that be? I've just looked under My Documents and in the Media Server folder in Program Files, but can't find it
PhantomTa2
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

Postby PhantomTa2 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:02 pm

OK, found it....it seems to work when playing through that. Thanks for the reply
PhantomTa2
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

Postby PhantomTa2 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:28 pm

When playing it thorugh the Transcoding folder, it's badly out of sync
PhantomTa2
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 5:33 pm

Re: Data Type Not Supported with AVI file

Postby Subject2Change » Mon Feb 02, 2009 5:13 pm

I had issues with AC3 audio and had to force it to down to 2 channels and I believe I remuxed it or something (at Work, so can't check, there was some option that said AC3 audio and I enabled it) and that seemed to fix it, however I have had some issues with playing back certain revisions of XVID encoded files and was forced to transcode them to get playback, however this has been infrequent and not a big deal.
Core2Duo E8400 (@ 3.0), 8gigs of Mushkin, Vista Home Premium SP2 64bit, 2.5 TB of Space, Wired to Linksys WRT54G wired to 80GB MGS4 PS3 on Sharp 32" 720p LCD TV
Subject2Change
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 6:28 am


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 12 guests