can't get PMS to work with xbox (NOT 360)

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

can't get PMS to work with xbox (NOT 360)

Postby kuahara » Mon Aug 24, 2009 3:14 am

Installed at a friend's house:

machine is using Win XP x86, 2.2GHz CPU, 1GB of memory

I unplugged the ethernet cable that connects the machine to the router (the one routing an actual internet connection). I plugged in a linksys WRT54G router, connected it to the PC on port 1 and the xbox on port 2 (not running an internet connection to it, it shouldn't be needed).


When I rebooted the computer and started PMS, it is saying that it can not find the PS3. There is no PS3...it should be finding an Xbox. What else needs done?
kuahara
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: wichita falls, tx

Re: can't get PMS to work with xbox (NOT 360)

Postby mikeyhughes » Mon Aug 24, 2009 10:06 am

Have you checked that UPNP network discovery is enabled on your computer?

For vista read here
http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/02/1 ... ows-vista/
mikeyhughes
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:11 am

Re: can't get PMS to work with xbox (NOT 360)

Postby kuahara » Mon Aug 24, 2009 12:07 pm

yes, that service was enabled.


Also, even if it finds the Xbox, how do you find the media server with the Xbox?


Is the PS3 Media Server supposed to display a picture of the Xbox like it does the PS3? It is only displaying the big red X that shows up when it finds nothing. I looked in the trace log and it says that everything is ready and I should see the media server in the XMB. ALIVE


On the Xbox, I see no options to even searching for a media server.
kuahara
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: wichita falls, tx

Re: can't get PMS to work with xbox (NOT 360)

Postby mikeyhughes » Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:14 pm

Hi

Try this (I know its not a xbox setup) but the core setup has to be the the same.

http://otmanix.de/english/2009/05/17/ja ... iguration/

It seems, in the majority of cases there are 2 problem causes:

Port 5001 is already in use by another software like Azureus Vuze ( I set mine to 6001 but for my PS3)
PMS uses the wrong network card as default
mikeyhughes
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:11 am

Re: can't get PMS to work with xbox (NOT 360)

Postby otmanix » Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:56 pm

I'm not an XBOX expert. Does the XBOX (not XBOX360!) support streaming? I don't think so. Please correct me if I'm wrong...
I think you will need XBMC installed on your XBOX which requires a mod: http://xbmc.org/wiki/?title=Installing_XBMC_for_Xbox#Modded_XBox_.28NOT_360.21.29
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests