Purpose of "Remux when track is AC3"?

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Purpose of "Remux when track is AC3"?

Postby thebigcheese » Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:03 pm

What exactly is the purpose of the the "Remux when audio track is AC3" option? What does it do? If I have an AC3 track, wouldn't I want to just leave that in the stream and let my receiver decode it? I mean, there's an option for keeping the DTS signal in the stream... I think I'm just confused about exactly what it's supposed to do. Also, since I have to set a bitrate for AC3 audio, does that mean that it is compressing it for streaming, thus I am not getting the original AC3 track in the first place?
thebigcheese
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:59 pm

Re: Purpose of "Remux when track is AC3"?

Postby otmanix » Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:54 pm

I think that means not to transcode digital audio even if transcoding video is necessary.
Correct me if I'm wrong...
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: Purpose of "Remux when track is AC3"?

Postby thebigcheese » Mon Aug 24, 2009 2:45 am

Can you explain that a little more? I'm still confused by that... If the option is checked, what will happen? If it's not checked, what will happen? Thanks.
thebigcheese
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 10:59 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests