Subtitle issue

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Subtitle issue

Postby kuahara » Sat Jul 25, 2009 5:41 pm

version: PS3 Media Server v1.10.51

Specs:
Operating System: Windows Vista Ultimate x64
E8600 CPU oc'd to 4.4GHz (yes, it's perfectly stable and temps are low)
4GB of PC8000 1GHz memory (2x2)
HDD1: 1TB 7200rpm 32MB cache
HDD2: 250GB 7200rpm 32MB cache
eVGA GTX 260, Superclocked
Asus P5N-D 750i SLI ATX Motherboard w/gigabit lan... 10/100/1000
Router: Linksys WRT54G v1.x

Am using a wired connection to stream movies stored on the 1TB HDD to the PS3 in the living room.




Some of the mkv movies and even a few vob movies I save have a set of subtitles included. If I do the rip myself I usually save the English subtitles, but I never intentionally turn them on.

The problem:
Sometimes subtitles show up when I do not want to see them. i.e. The entire movie is in English and I do not need them. The reason I can not simply remove the subtitles is because sometimes the movie I watch will show a scene where 2 people/creatures/whatever are speaking a different language and the subtitles were meant to show up for that scene only. If I rip the movie without the English subs, ALL subs are gone, even the ones I was meant to see. If I leave it there, they show up ALL the time.

If I go to common transcoding settings within PS3 Media server and check the box that reads, "definitely disable subtitles", I lose all subtitles as well... even for the few scenes they are meant to show up.


How do I resolve this issue?
kuahara
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: wichita falls, tx

Re: Subtitle issue

Postby Sielle » Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:41 am

I think the issue may be in how you're ripping the videos. There's something called "forced subtitles" which you'll need to make a subtitle track from. Then when you load up a subtitle track you'd select the forced one.

The other option is to encode the forced subtitles into the video when you first rip it.
Sielle
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 2:39 am

Re: Subtitle issue

Postby lmtan0 » Mon Jul 27, 2009 5:39 am

Under Mencoder settings... leave the Subtitles Settings | Subtitle Language Priority | *blank*

try and see if this would work.
lmtan0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:27 am

Re: Subtitle issue

Postby kuahara » Mon Jul 27, 2009 8:28 pm

ifI am ripping a movie, I would ordinarily use dvd shrink. I have never seen anything called forced subtitles before.


Some of the movies I am referring to are from usenet
kuahara
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: wichita falls, tx

Re: Subtitle issue

Postby kuahara » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:11 pm

bump
kuahara
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: wichita falls, tx

Re: Subtitle issue

Postby kuahara » Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:02 pm

bump
kuahara
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 3:37 pm
Location: wichita falls, tx

Re: Subtitle issue

Postby meskibob » Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:24 pm

I provide NO application support via PM or email, so please post your question to the forum per the Forum Rules.
meskibob
Moderator
 
Posts: 4778
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 4:11 pm


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests