CoreAVC

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

CoreAVC

Postby Mysta » Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:30 am

This probably isn't the best place for this, but a lot of people here seem to use CoreAVC. I installed it(Bought it too) and followed Otamanix's guide. (Disabled ffdshow 264 etc) I tried the graph thing but Core does not show up in it. Whever I play a mkv 264(the only h264 file i have) the Core icon pops up then disappears.
Mysta
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:26 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby bahamot » Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:47 am

Does CoreAVC work properly when playing the video on PC (using media player)?
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby Mysta » Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:52 am

bahamot wrote:Does CoreAVC work properly when playing the video on PC (using media player)?


No, that's where i tried it first, also tried on ps3ms too but no luck there either.
Mysta
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:26 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby bahamot » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:02 am

Try to untick prefer CUDA acceleration.
Also note that CoreAVC's GPU based decoder can only be used on Nvidia 8xxx series or later.
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby Mysta » Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:02 pm

I have an 8800 gts, my cpu kind of lacks and that's why i'm resorting to this.

is there a difference in x264 and h264?
Mysta
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:26 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby bahamot » Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:28 pm

Make sure you installed the newest driver.
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby Mysta » Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:35 pm

I did, I even went and grabbed 191 which was released 2 days ago with increased CUDA support.
Mysta
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:26 am

Re: CoreAVC

Postby otmanix » Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:45 am

You don't have to buy CoreAVC before it's working. There's a trial version available...
If you use GraphStudio for your example mkv file you have to look which filter/codec is used for video input. If it isn't "CoreAVC Video Decoder" you have to set the merit for the current filter to "do not use". Then search for "CoreAVC Video Decoder" in the list and change merit to "NORMAL". Leave Graphstudio, reboot Windows and have a look at the file once again. The chart in Graphstudio should have changed and CoreAVC should be used for playback of this file.
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany

Re: CoreAVC

Postby otmanix » Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:03 pm

Windows 7 has different behaviour regarding codecs… http://windows7news.com/tag/coreavc/
I provide NO application support via PM, so please post your question to the forum.
PS3 Media Server related articles on my blog: http://otmanix.de/?cat=11&lang=en
User avatar
otmanix
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 12:40 am
Location: Bavaria, Germany


Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 14 guests