Problem with gigabit speed connection.

For help and support with PS3 Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply.

Re: Problem with gigabit speed connection.

Postby LiquidCooled » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:54 pm

Everyday a school day
LiquidCooled
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:59 pm

Re: Problem with gigabit speed connection.

Postby H3RkAn » Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:46 am

Have u tried on the PS3 to change the ethernet speed to 1000mbps full duplex?
Sometime switches cant recognise the speed of the port so it helps to hard configure one of the sides.

BDW
CAT5E cables are not to recommend for 1000mbps because u can get some overhearing in the cable witch resoults in resending of packets. And that can slow down your network.
H3RkAn
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:09 am

Re: Problem with gigabit speed connection.

Postby bahamot » Mon Jul 27, 2009 4:13 am

Sorry for OT, can you tell us what's overhearing?
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Re: Problem with gigabit speed connection.

Postby LiquidCooled » Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:15 am

I am going to assume he means overheating.
LiquidCooled
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:59 pm

Re: Problem with gigabit speed connection.

Postby H3RkAn » Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:20 pm

bahamot wrote:Sorry for OT, can you tell us what's overhearing?


That´s what I in sweden call "Överhörning" I think that it´s called NEXT or FEXT in eng http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Near_end_crosstalk
This can occur when you use a cable that does not meet the legal requirements for the speed you are using.
H3RkAn
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 12:09 am

Re: Problem with gigabit speed connection.

Postby bahamot » Tue Jul 28, 2009 3:52 am

A quick google show cat5e actually handles NEXT, while cat5 doesn't. Cat6e obviously handles it better than cat5e.

http://www.networkcablingdirectory.com/ ... d_1151.htm
http://www.lanshack.com/cat5e-tutorial.aspx

So, there's nothing wrong using cat5e in gigabit unless you've the opportunity and budget to use cat6.
bahamot
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:02 am

Previous

Return to General Help and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests